Hungary (Hungary)Country Profile Flags of HungaryCoat of arms of HungaryNational Anthem of HungaryIndependence Date: October 17, 1918 (from Austria-Hungary) Founded: 1000 Official language: Hungarian Government Form: Parliamentary Republic Territory: 93 030 km² (109th in the world) Population: 9,908,798 people (87th in the world) Capital: Budapest Currency: Hungarian Forint (HUF) domain: .hu Telephone code: +36
Hungary - one of the most beloved tourist states of Central Europe. The country has a colorful motley national culture that thrives, despite the active process of globalization. The infrastructure and economy of Hungary are at a very high level. The population, according to the census of 2017, is 9,797,561 people, and the territory - 93,030 km².
Tourists are attracted by the numerous spa resorts, ancient sights, excellent cuisine and a rich Hungarian excursion program. In addition, the country is considered one of the cheapest in Europe. The incredible variety of life here and entertainment for every taste will allow you to easily organize an independent, family or romantic vacation.Parliament building in Budapest. Lake Heviz is a popular balneological resort of Hungary. Budapest. A small church in the village of Tsengersima
Cities of HungaryBudapest: Budapest is the capital and at the same time the largest city of Hungary. The modern metropolis is the leading ... Pec: Pec is a quiet university city, almost untouched by the destruction of war, without a powerful ... Gyor: Gyor is the most important city in northwestern Hungary, located half way between Budapest and ... Szeged: Szeged is a city in Hungary, located on both banks of the Tisza River to the south of the place where the river flows into it ... Debrecen: Debrecen is a city in northeastern Hungary, located in the northern part of the Alfeld Plain ... Esztergom: Esztergom is a city of amazing magnitude in miniature. The city is located on the right bank of the Danube in ... All cities of Hungary
Sights and excursionsBasilica of St. Stephen
There are no less interesting places than in the countries of Western or Northern Europe. Sights of Hungary are original, reflect a turbulent centuries-old history, an unusual mixture of cultures and styles. The most important and largest decoration of the state is the capital - the city of Budapest. Sometimes it is called the "open-air museum" - there are so many places here that are interesting for lovers of history, art, and simply picturesque cityscapes.Buda streets (Old part of Budapest)
The capital of Hungary is divided into two parts by the Danube, the old Buda is especially beautiful, but in more modern Pest there is also something to see. Not to mention the magnificent theaters of the city, the royal palace and the magnificent decoration of the parliament building. The Pearl of the Danube is beautiful at any time of the year, and its architecture is very different from the landscapes of other European cities, which is immediately apparent to experienced travelers. Here you can see a lot of temples of various religions, decorated with the national color inherent to their parishioners.
Also, Budapest is often called a resort city, because there are more than a hundred powerful sources of healing mineral waters of different composition.In the capital, as well as throughout the country, you can find unique health resorts, spa centers, sanatoriums.The swimming pool of the Gellert Bath of the Kirani Vysehrad Castle in Hungary
It is in Hungary that the largest lake in Europe is located, called Balaton. The pond is spread over more than 600 square kilometers, attracting numerous water sports fans in the summer, as well as skating enthusiasts in the winter.
Once the Hungarians were a very warlike people, with enviable regularity they conducted redistribution of territories with neighboring states, therefore in most cities, large and not so much, you can see stone bastions, castles, fortresses. Many of them were built in the period of the Middle Ages or even earlier and have been preserved in an authentic form to this day.
The most famous is the city of Erger, which is a symbol of victory over the Turks, under whose rule Hungary was more than 170 years. Here the decisive battle with the troops of the invaders took place, after which the country began to revive its culture and economy. Despite the turbulent historical upheavals that fell to Erger, the ancient quarters in the Baroque style are well preserved.Sunset on Lake Balaton The ancient city of Erger
Coming to Hungary, at least once visit a boat trip on the Danube, or just take a ride on a tourist boat. This will provide an opportunity to look at the city, in particular, Budapest, from an unusual angle. In general, there is a huge number of not only classical attractions - the so-called alternative and thematic tours are popular.
Please note that when walking around the city, you should avoid contact with Gypsies and watch your bag very carefully - pickpockets are often caught in transport and on the streets. The rest of the crime rate in the country is very low.Lake Heviz: The Hungarian Lake Heviz is Europe's largest warm-water thermal lake. Near the reservoir ... Lake Balaton: Lake Balaton, located in the west of Hungary, is the largest in the country and at the same time ... Szécheny Bath: The Szécheny Bath is one of the most iconic sights of Budapest. It represents ... Gellert Bath: Gellert Bath - one of the thirteen baths of Budapest, located at the foot of the mountain of the same name, ... Fisherman's Bastion: Fisherman's Bastion is one of the most famous architectural buildings in Budapest and belongs to ... , near the main city square of Heroes. This is ... Gellert Hill: Gellert Hill is a high hill on the right bank of the Danube and one of the Hungarian sights ... Váci Street: Váci Street is one of the most famous in the Hungarian capital. Starting on the square ... Andrassy Avenue: Andrassy Avenue is the main street in the central part of Budapest, which is for beauty and elegance ... The Royal Palace in Budapest: The Royal Palace in Budapest is the ancient residence of the rulers of Hungary, which is also called ... Basilica of Saint Stephen: Basilica of Saint Stephen rightly considered the hallmark of Budapest, along with the building ... Chain Bridge in Budapest: Chain Bridge in Budapest - an old bridge over the Danube, connecting the two historical parts of the city ... All the sights of Weng rii
StoryThe Mongol conquest of Hungary in the thirteenth century
The foundations of a full-fledged statehood in these territories were laid by Istvan I about 1000 years ago. Until that time, the current Hungarian territories were the outskirts of the Roman Empire, bearing the name Panonia. There was a small permanent population, but nomads and barbarians regularly visited here. Only by the end of the 9th century were the Magyars able to consolidate properly.Siege of Buda, the Great Turkish War, 1686 r. The siege of Eger (1552), in which 2000 Hungarians fought against 35,000-40000 Turks. The battle ended with the victory of Hungary
Blessed by the Roman Catholic Church, a thriving monarchist system brought the country culturally and economically to the same level as the states of Western Europe. However, in the XVI century, Turkish influence reached here and the time of well-being came to an end. In the 18th century, fragmented territories passed to Austria. Having a little strengthened in its structure, Hungary in the second half of the XIX century already received much more political power, and the Austro-Hungarian empire arose.Map of the collapse of Austria-Hungary in the years 1919-1920
But this rather profitable alliance was short lived. Two world wars caused significant damage to the integrity of the Hungarian lands, because in both cases the country was on the side of the losers. In 1947 the power of the communists was established in the state, which lasted until the collapse of the USSR. A huge contribution to the transformation of Hungary into a state that exists today was introduced by Janos Kadar, who paid great attention to the integrated development of the economy oriented towards the internal consumer.Observation deck in the medieval castle Boldogkő (Boldogkő)
Therefore, in spite of the formal socialist system, already in the 70s the country became one of the most free, richest and liberal in Eastern Europe. The end of the 80s was marked by the removal of communists from power and the beginning of integration with Western countries. In 1999, the country became a member of NATO, and in 2004 joined the EU. Today, Hungary is a flourishing European state with a democratic system that has managed to preserve many national traditions, attracting travelers from all countries of the world.
Resorts and climate
Most places of treatment and SPA-rest in Hungary are located near the thermal water sources, mineral mud. Unique balneological resorts and baths have been famous throughout Europe for their health and rejuvenating effect for more than one century. Specialized sanatoriums are engaged in the treatment of diseases of the musculoskeletal system, the digestive system, the metabolism and so on. There are also general health resorts.Waterpark in Hajdúszoboszló
Among the most famous resorts can be called Hajdusoboslo, mineral springs which are called "hot gold" and used to treat rheumatism. There are a lot of historical and architectural sights preserved in this quiet town, so it will be interesting for all tourists to visit Hajdúszoboszló.Debrecen
Debrecen is a large modern settlement, not much inferior to the capital in terms of population. Nadierdo’s large thermal water park can be called a visiting card of the city. It is also one of the most famous balneological clinics in the country.
Margit is a whole island in the heart of the capital of Hungary, located in the waters of the majestic Danube. Its territory is quite small: 2.5 kilometers long and up to 500 meters wide. This is a national reserve, in the arboretum of which you can see a lot of rare local plants. There is peace and tranquility, the cleanest air in the capital, a unique microclimate.Margit Island
Winter in Sarospatak
Not far from the already mentioned Lake Balaton is another famous reservoir called Heviz. This is a unique place, the water in which, thanks to the power of the sources, is completely updated in about a day. Heviz is the largest warm-water lake in Europe: in winter, the water here has indicators of + 26 ... +28 ° C, and in summer + 33 ... +35. Because of this, there is often steam above the surface that forms the special climate of these places.
In general, the annual temperature regime in Hungary is similar to the Russian one. The summer is hot here, but the winter is not too frosty - the average indicator of the coldest month lies within 0 ... -1 ° C. Spring and autumn are very warm, long and rather dry, so many experienced travelers advise to go to Hungary exactly in this off-season.
The national Hungarian menu is distinguished by an abundance of spices. They may be spicy or not, but dried paprika, which emphasizes the rich and rich flavor of local dishes, is in general respect. The dishes are very hearty, there is a vegetarian, but in most cases meat or fish will be an essential component.Goulash Dried paprika Soup of Halasle Perkelt Carrot cake Hungarian bread Dry salami sausage from Hungary
The most famous Hungarian dish, which is popular outside the country, is goulash. In a local restaurant, be sure to order halasle soup, paprikash, perkelt, and a piece of trout, which is bred in the cold mountain lakes of the country. Another Hungarian culinary invention, beloved around the world - dry salami sausage PICK. This delicious snack can be stored for quite a long time even without a refrigerator. Many tourists bring salami and different types of paprika to their homeland as a traditional gift instead of boring magnets.Cold bottle of Hungarian balsam Unicum
It is in Hungary that you can taste dozens of varieties of genuine Tokay wine, the drink “Bull's Blood”, the national vodka “Palinka”. Quality alcohol, like salami, can be bought on the market or in a good supermarket. Consider that Tokay wine is notable for its aging, harvest time, sweetness.Gundel pancakes
Not to mention the opportunity to try the delicacy of foie gras, which in Europe is authorized for production and sale only here and in France. This is a goose liver taken from birds grown by a special technology.
Separately, you can talk about pastry, which are just as tasty and hearty as the main dishes. Among the most popular, included in the "mandatory" program of the tourist: Gundel pancakes, sweet chestnuts with sour cream or cream, Retesh roll, chocolate sponge dumplings, various strudel and, of course, marzipans.
From Hungary, not only salami and Tokay wine are taken as original souvenirs, but also bitter local liqueurs, for example, Unikum. It is worth looking at the unusual national Khalash lace and embroidery, which craftsmen make by hand according to old traditional technologies. Wonderful dolls in Hungarian clothes, ceramics. All this is created and signed by hand.
Also popular porcelain products Zholnai and Kherendskogo plant, because they have the highest quality and are considered the subject of national heritage. You can purchase gift sets of spices, marzipan figurines, fruit palinka.Souvenirs from Hungary
In comparison with other European countries, in Hungary inexpensive, but very high-quality clothing. You can buy everything your heart desires in supermarkets, regular stores or on the market. The oldest and most beautiful is located in Budapest. On Monday-Friday, most grocery stores are open from 7.00 to 18.00, and on Saturday until 12.00-13.00. Large supermarkets can be open much longer, sometimes around the clock. In the summer, stores in large cities carry out large-scale sales of clothes, shoes, and accessories.
The national currency is the Hungarian forint. As in other EU countries, in Hungary you can get back value-added tax on goods that were purchased in the same store for at least 50 thousand forints. The money is returned in cash at the crossing of the state border at road checkpoints, the international Danube port, at Ferihegy Airport 1 and 2, in the IBUS office located at the Eastern Bus Terminal.Castle Vajdahunyad in Hungary
TransportTram in Budapest
Hungary’s central transportation hub is Budapest, from which, like rays, diverge automobile and railway tracks to smaller settlements. This is very convenient, but it creates some difficulties when you need to get to the city on another "line".However, having a rented car makes it easy to reach any destination thanks to an extensive network of roads.
To rent a car, you must have proof of your stay in Hungary (for example, a hotel check-out), international rights, credit card. Instead of the last item you can make a cash deposit. Age must be more than 21 years with a driving experience of at least 12 months. On the roads there is a speed limit, international traffic rules apply. The police in Hungary are very strict - a violation of the rules threatens with a large fine, and the slightest presence of alcohol in the blood will lead to immediate arrest.City traffic
The bus service is well developed: you can be sure not only in the exact observance of the schedule, but also in the exceptional comfort of transport. The same applies to trains and ferries. The latter run along the Danube and can even take a traveler to Vienna. As for air travel, they are designed mainly for international traffic, although several flights run within the country.
Taxi rides are completely safe. Cars of this service can be recognized by the characteristic inscription located in the door window. At the passenger's request, the driver will provide an invoice.Roads in Hungary
Finance and accommodationHungarian forint - the national currency of Hungary
The forint may fluctuate slightly, but usually one dollar is equivalent to approximately 285 units of local currency. It is best to exchange in official locations, banks, hotels, special machines. Please note that at train stations and airports the course is somewhat less profitable than in the city. Hungarian banks work only on weekdays, up to a maximum of 16.00. But the individual exchangers in the center, as well as vending machines and the corresponding hotel services serve travelers 24/7.Hunguest Hotel Palota in Lillafured
Checks for the exchange must be kept until the border crossing at the exit. Many hotels, restaurants, cafes and shops accept credit cards of international electronic systems.
Many tourists are surprised by the excellent ratio of the level of services and cost of hotel accommodation. The three-star mid-range hotel will offer the guest a cozy room with high-quality furniture, breakfast, a polite and helpful attitude of the staff. Even in small establishments, employees often speak Russian, necessarily in English, German, Hungarian. It is unnecessary to speak about the highest level of service in more prestigious hotels.New Year in Hungary Hungarian holiday Farshang
In addition to May 1, Easter, Christmas and New Year, a number of national celebrations are celebrated in Hungary. Farshang is a holiday similar to the Russian Maslenitsa, which came to these lands from Germany. It is celebrated in spring and celebrated with carnival events.Monument to Saint Istvan at the Fisherman’s Bastion in Buda
Also, the beginning of the warm season is marked by the Day of the National Revolution. March 15, 1848 began a powerful national movement against the royal Habsburg dynasty, which over time turned into a real Austro-Hungarian war.St. Stephen's Day
St. Stephen’s Day is one of the most revered holidays, since it is dedicated to the coronation of the first Hungarian monarch, who initiated the existence of the state. It is celebrated every August 20 for nearly a thousand years. October 23 is the day of the national uprising, which occurred in 1956, as well as the anniversary of the proclamation of the republic. These are the most important, but not all, public holidays in Hungary.
This information will not only help you plan your trip, but also save you from such unpleasant surprises as closed shops and banks.
Useful contactsPolice in Hungary
The Embassy of Russia in Budapest is located at V1 Bajza utca, 35. Telephone (1) 302-52-30, 332-47-48. The official site //www.hungary.mid.ru/.Russian Embassy in Budapest
The Consulate General of the Russian Federation in Debrecen is located on ul. Aran Janos, 1. Phone (52) 536-926, 536-927. Official site //www.debrecen.mid.ru/.
You can call an ambulance by calling 104, the police - 107, the fire brigade - 105, the rescue service - 112. It is easy to call not only from a mobile, but from universally installed machines. They accept coins of 10 to 100 forints, as well as special payphone cards that can be bought at hotels, shops, train stations, mail or in a tobacco stand.
How to get there
Hungary borders with Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Austria, Slovenia and Croatia, so you can enter through any of these countries. For Russians, a Schengen visa is required.
Every day there are direct flights from Moscow with a duration of 2.5 hours to Budapest. Through Ukraine, with a stop in Kiev, direct trains run from Moscow. Travel time is about 40 hours. Also from the Russian capital there is a direct car passing through St. Petersburg, but in order to leave, you will need a Slovakia visa. Travel time is approximately 45 hours.
Low Price Calendar for flights to Hungary
Budapest - The capital and at the same time the largest city of Hungary. Of the nearly 10-million population of this small state, almost 1.8 million people live in the capital. In terms of population, Budapest is in the European Union in 8th place. The modern metropolis - the leading political, economic and cultural center of the country - is located on the shores of the gray-haired Danube and covers an area of 525.14 thousand km².
In Budapest, 50% of the country's industry and the lion’s share of foreign trade are concentrated. Historically, all the railway lines in Hungary originate from here. Here also begins 7 highways of national importance (there are eight of them in the republic).
Budapest is also the largest tourist center of Hungary: there are so many sights and interesting places in it that most European cities just have to dream. Many of the city’s monuments are listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site due to their architectural, archaeological or cultural significance.View of Budapest from the Danube Streets of Budapest
The chronicle of the Hungarian capital begins its countdown from the I century BC. er But neither Budapest as such, nor the Hungarians themselves, then in sight. The locality was inhabited by the Celts, who founded the Ak-Inc settlement here. In 89 AD, the Romans came here. Almost two decades later, they renamed the town Akvinkum and made it the capital of the province of Pannonia. A reminder of this early period of history is the archaeological park that has survived to the present day. It includes the ruins of buildings and structures, private households, aqueduct.Buda in the Middle Ages. Woodcut from the Nuremberg Chronicle (1493) The liberation of Buda from the Ottoman Empire, 1686 (19th century painting) The Budapest Metro (1894-1896) is the second oldest metro in the world (after the London Underground)
Hungarian tribes came to the Danube around 895. They renamed Aquincum in Buda, which became the first capital of Hungary - one of the oldest states of the continent, founded in 1000. In the modern sense, Budapest appeared on the map of Europe and the world only in 1873, when Buda (or Obuda - Old Buda) merged with Pest. The latter was also an independent city and was located on the opposite (eastern) side of the river. From this moment on, Budapest was proclaimed the capital of the Hungarian kingdom, which was part of the newly formed Austro-Hungarian Empire on the rights of broad autonomy. In 1918, the Habsburg monarchy fell apart, and the city became the capital of the independent Republic of Hungary.
Budapest began to grow rapidly and develop after 1945, "absorbing" the suburbs Uypest, Chepel, Budafok, Kispest and others. In 1950, the capital gained another seven cities and 16 urban-type settlements, and the total number of districts increased to 22 (there were 10). The historic hilly I will now account for only a third of the city’s territory, while the flat Pest occupies two thirds.Budapest of the early 20th century. View from Mount Gelert. Photos 1900-1910 Ruined Buda Castle. 1945
Sights of BudapestShoes on the Danube Embankment - a memorial in honor of the victims of the Holocaust, established in 2005 on the banks of the Danube in Budapest
One of the business cards of Budapest is called its embankment. The beautiful bridges connecting Buda and Pest are real architectural masterpieces. The oldest commissioned in 1849 is called the Lanchide, which translates as “Chain Bridge”.Budapest Chain Bridge
Often excursion routes start from the main square of the city, bearing the name of the Holy Trinity. In its very center stands the eponymous monument. It was erected at the beginning of the XVIII century in memory of the victims of the plague invasion. The Matthias Catholic Church, part of the Buda Castle Complex, is one of the square’s business cards, a real decoration of the square. Built in the late Gothic style in the second half of the 14th century, the temple underwent a thorough reconstruction at the end of the 19th century. Many Hungarian kings were married and subsequently found their last rest.
The Fishermen's Bastion, or Khalasbashtya, is located in the Buda Castle (the Matthias Temple is located next door). Landmark is a square, which is surrounded by a 140-meter gallery with hipped towers, cones, balustrades and arcades. Its observation platforms are popular among travelers: they offer marvelous views of the Danube and the historic district of Pest.Fisherman's Bastion in Budapest
Church of St. Anne
Once in this part of Budapest, be sure to visit the Church of St. Anne - an architectural monument of the middle of the XVIII century. Located on Battyani Square, the style is Italian Baroque. Sculptured statues of Jesus, the Blessed Virgin Mary, as well as Faith, Hope, Love and St. Anne, surrounded by angels, are installed on the facade. The mausoleum of the Turkish dervish Gul Baba Turb, who is revered as a saint, will also cause undoubted interest. The tomb serves as a “living” reminder that in the 16th - early 18th centuries the Turks dominated Hungarian lands. Today, the mausoleum, restored in 1885 at the expense of the Turkish government, is one of the Muslim pilgrimage sites.
The Royal Palace, the first official royal residence, erected in 1790, stretches on the southern side of the Castle Hill. Replaced the residence, which the Ottomans razed to the ground at the end of the XVII century during the capture of Buda. Today, the former royal abode sheltered a number of museums under its roof. The most famous of them is the National Gallery, where unique collections of paintings are kept. The National Library of Hungary and the Budapest History Museum are also located here.Budapest Royal Palace (Buda Castle) St. Stephen's Basilica
The main attractions also include St. Stephen's Basilica - the largest Catholic cathedral of the city, which can accommodate 8.5 thousand people. The relics of the first Hungarian ruler István, known as the "Holy Hand", are kept in the temple. In the same cathedral is a unique bell - the largest in the country. Its weight is 9 tons.Orsagkhaz (The Hungarian Parliament Building)
The building of the National Assembly, or Orsaghaz (Országház) is one of the largest existing parliamentary buildings on the planet. The area is huge: almost 18 thousand square meters. It was erected in the years 1885-1904 and has almost 700 rooms.It is an architectural monument that combines several architectural styles: baroque, neo-gothic, eclectic, renaissance. The parliament holds the crown of the Hungarian kingdom, better known as the crown of Saint Stephen, and the regalia for the coronation: scepter, orb and sword.
Gellert Hill is a must-see tour of Budapest, named after Catholic Saint Gerard of Hungary. The height of the hill is 235 meters, on its top is the Citadel, erected in 1855. From it opens a good panorama of both sides of the Danube. The length of the Citadel is 220 meters, and the height of the fortress walls is 16 m. Near them you can see the Freedom Monument. Its height is also impressive: 40 m.Evening Budapest Statue of Saint Gellert from Gellert Hill
Another venerable place in the city is the island of Margit, which lies between the bridge bearing the same name and the Arpad bridge. The length extends to 2.5 km and half a kilometer wide (this is at its widest point). Here both citizens and guests of the capital love to spend their leisure time. Local beach "Palatinus" and a wonderful Japanese garden are especially popular with tourists. Nearby is the Summer Theater - the venue of theater festivals.Margit Island
Margit is “rich” with two elite hotels, any cafes and restaurants can choose from. There is something to see and lovers of antiquity: the ruins of the women's monastery of the Order of the Dominicans and the French Franciscan church, the old water tower and the Church of St. Michael. Also on the island you can listen to the hourly playing "Music Well", visit the modern sports complex.
There are many museums in Budapest. Among them, the most famous are:
- National Gallery: one of the main art museums of the country; there are kept collections from the period from the Middle Ages to the present.
- Hungarian National Museum: founded in 1802 and dedicated to the history and art of the republic;
- Museum of Fine Arts: has the largest collection of works of foreign painters in Hungary;
- Ethnographic Museum: dedicated to the cultural heritage of both Hungarians and other nations, the collection has about 200,000 exhibits;
- House of Hungarian wines: the museum is located near the Buda Castle, which is on the square of the Holy Trinity. Presented over 700 varieties of wines.
The parish church in the area of Belvaros is also a museum. Her building is considered the oldest in Pest. When the Turks dominated the Hungarian territories, they destroyed many temples in the city. But this Christian religious building, the only such fate passed by. Metric records dating back to 1688 are still preserved in the church today.Váci street
Another tourist "mecca" of the metropolitan metropolis is Váci utca. It is the main pedestrian artery of the Belvaros district and the main shopping street of all of Budapest. It originates from the Vörösmarty Square and extends to the Fövam Square, which is near the central market. It stretches for 1.2 km from the north-west to the south-east, parallel to the river, running from it at a distance of about 200 m. In local shops, they are happy to buy not only modern, but also national clothing. In the food stalls "with a bang" are bought up the masterpieces of national cuisine: salami, goose pate, marzipan. And, of course, local drinks: sweet cherry palinka, Tokay wine, Unicum liqueur.Szécheny Bath: The Szécheny Bath is one of the most iconic sights of Budapest. It represents ... Gellert Bath: Gellert Bath - one of the thirteen baths of Budapest, located at the foot of the mountain of the same name, ... Fisherman's Bastion: Fisherman's Bastion is one of the most famous architectural buildings in Budapest and belongs to ... , near the main city square of Heroes.This is ... Gellert Hill: Gellert Hill is a high hill on the right bank of the Danube and one of the Hungarian sights ... Váci Street: Váci Street is one of the most famous in the Hungarian capital. Starting on the square ... Andrassy Avenue: Andrassy Avenue is the front street in the central part of Budapest, which is for beauty and elegance ... Royal Palace in Budapest: Royal Palace in Budapest - the ancient residence of the rulers of Hungary, which is also called ... Basilica of Saint Stephen: Basilica of Saint Stephen rightly considered the hallmark of Budapest, along with the building ... All the sights of Budapest
Climate and weather
The climate in Budapest is defined as temperate continental, which means that it is quite mild. Extreme temperature extremes are practically not observed. Winters are short and not particularly cold, except that often piercing cold winds blow, which can bring a lot of discomfort. Summer, on the contrary, is long and hot. December and January are the coldest months of the year, with temperatures dropping to -15 ° C. The warmest months: July-August, the air temperature often rises to + 28 ... 35 С °.Summer in Budapest. Kossuth Square First Snow Autumn in Budapest
Europe’s only resort capitalThe Baths Section in Budapest
In Budapest, there are many thermal springs found by the Celts. Because of this, it became the only capital in Europe, which officially granted resort status. The water temperature in them ranges from + 24 ° to + 75 °, and the total water content is 70 million liters per day.Bath Rudas
One of the most famous baths in the city, country and Europe - Rudash - is located at the foot of Gellert Mountain. It was built on a healing thermal spring in the era of the Arpad dynasty. Wellness complex has two pools: the first - open, the second - with an opening lid and foaming water. There is a hotel, one of the most unusual in the city. Another swimming pool, the Szécheny, is located in the Varoshliget Park. When it has a beach. The bath was built in 1913, and since then it is the largest on the continent. Next to it stretched the fortress of Vajdahunyad, which includes 21 buildings, each of which is a sample of Hungarian national architectural styles, starting with the era of ancient Rome and ending with baroque.Roofs of the evening Budapest
In Budapest, an extensive transport network. There are 15 trolleybus lines, three dozen tram lines, 180 bus lines, four metro lines and a railway. Public transport usually runs from half past four in the morning until 11 in the evening. With the schedule of movement of all types of transport in the capital of Hungary can be found at bus stops. Tourists note its punctuality: neither buses, nor trolleybuses, nor trams usually are late. Moreover, local trams have the reputation of being the most crowded in the world. They walk at intervals of not more than 10 minutes.A tram decorated with a garland on New Year's Eve. Entrance to the Metro of Budapest Subway City bus
The Budapest Metro appeared in 1896 and is the most "adult" on the continent. The first line, which still functions today, runs under Andrássy Avenue, connecting two areas: Heroes and Vörösmarty. It moves on trains, which are stylized antique trains. The metropolitan metro lines intersect in the center of Budapest (Deák Ferenc tér station - "Deák Ferenc ter"). The total number of metro stations is 52, and the total length of the lines is almost 38 km. Detailed information on the Budapest public transport movement, including the metro, can be found on the website of the company BKV, which is in charge of all this big farming: www.bkv.hu.
There is a railway transport in the city. Within the city limits there are several train stops, so citizens and tourists use it as urban public transport. The main railway stations of Budapest are: Keleti, Nyugati and Delhi.
Recreation and entertainment
Budapest Circus. Located in the Varoshliget Park. Every day, excluding Mondays-Tuesdays, viewers are waiting for interesting performances: acrobatic stunts, rooms with clowns and our smaller brothers. In the summer, a circus art festival with international status is held at its base. Starting time of performances: at 15:00 on weekdays, at 11:00 and 19:00 on Saturday, 11:00 on Sunday.Budapest Circus
Budapest Zoo. In a way, it is unique and differs from most similar institutions in that it is possible not only to look at the local inhabitants, but also to feed them. However, only the food allowed by his staff and under their supervision. Young visitors especially like the so-called tactile zoo, where they enjoy playing with innocuous rabbits, lambs and goats.Budapest Zoo
Children's railway on the Széchenyi hill. Located on the Buda Hills, its length is 11 km. There are stops at the most interesting points of the way. An interesting fact: there are also children working on this railway, the age of young workers is 10-17 years old. Before being hired - and taken only with good grades in school subjects - they still undergo special training. In the warm season, the railway runs daily from 9:00 to 17:00.Children's railway on the Széchenyi hill
Aquaworld Budapest. One of the most famous water parks with many towers and suspended bridges. Located in Pest. Stylized as a Hindu temples of Cambodia. There is a copy of the world's largest temple of Angkor Wat or Angkorvoat. Especially for children there is a playground, numerous slides and heated pools. Opening hours: 6: 00-22: 00.Budapest Zoo
Budapest Club Life
Bahnhof Music Club. Here, in one of the most popular metropolitan clubs, local and foreign youth lead an active nightlife. The club is especially crowded at the weekend. The institution, in which often promoted DJs, is located on Vaci Street, at its very beginning. The club is open on Wednesdays-Saturdays from 21:00 to 4:00.
National Theater. The main metropolitan drama theater, a modern building which was commissioned in 2002. The main hall is able to accommodate 619 pests. Address: Gizi Bayor Park, 1.National Theater in Budapest
Hungarian State Opera House. Located on Andrassy Boulevard, it is distinguished by beautiful architecture glorified on the whole continent. The horseshoe-shaped hall can accommodate 1261 spectators.Hungarian State Opera House
National Dance Theater. The audience, including not only adults, but also children and young people, presents performances with a wide variety of choreography - from classical dances to modern ones. Address (in Hungarian): Színház utca, 1-3.National Dance Theater in Budapest
Academy of Music Franz Liszt
Budapest Operetta Theater and Imre Kalman Monument
Budapest Conservatory. Officially referred to as the Franz Liszt Academy of Music. In this educational institution, which was founded by the composer himself, they prepare outstanding musicians and give great concerts. There are two auditoriums with a capacity of 1200 and 400 people.
Budapest Operetta Theater. Located on the street. Nadmeso, 17. The basis of the repertoire consists of operettas and musicals. The monument to the world famous Imre Kalman is opposite. The sculptor portrayed the great composer on a bench that sits looking at the theater building.
Hotels and Accommodation
Budapest is not among the most expensive capitals, and finding a suitable hotel at a price close to the main attractions is quite realistic. A day's stay in a double room with one star hotel will cost about $ 15. In three-star hotels, the cost of a night’s stay is $ 50.In more expensive and luxurious hotels and the cost of apartments, respectively - $ 150. The capital of Hungary is safe in terms of security, so you can stay in any area of the city. However, the settlement on the outskirts, although cheaper, but has significant drawbacks. Namely: the absence of more or less significant attractions and distance from the center.
What to bring to memory
Most Budapest stores are open from Monday to Friday from 10 am to 6 pm, on Saturdays, usually until 1 pm Sunday is usually a day off. The only exceptions are shopping centers: they take buyers on weekends. There are convenience stores.Souvenir shop
Tourists are offered numerous souvenirs, among which decorative panels, clothes in national style, wooden dolls in folk robes and even cute fridge magnets are in high demand. The travelers use exclusive handicrafts: embroidered tablecloths, painted plates, Kalochaysky textiles and, of course, the pride of the country is national china.
From the "edible" souvenirs most often choose salami and marzipan confection. The main shopping area, as already mentioned, is Vaci Street, where large supermarkets, boutiques and souvenir shops are concentrated.
Mobile communications and the InternetBudapest at night
Budapest provides coverage for the main mobile operators: Vodafone, Telenor and T-Mobile. Mobile communication here is not cheap, and you can buy a SIM-card only upon presentation of a passport. In some places there are special signs prohibiting talking on a mobile phone. You can connect to the Internet through a Wi-Fi network, SIM-cards of mobile operators, as well as establishing a fixed connection to a computer. The city provides coverage for both free and paid wireless networks.
How to get to Budapest
Ferenc Liszt International Airport accepts flights operated by WizzAir from Moscow Vnukovo Airport. At a cost they are the most optimal: a one-way ticket will cost from 40 euros, the flight will take 2.5 hours. Perceptibly more expensive (€ 611) flights "Aeroflot" from "Sheremetyevo". Travel time is 2 hours 40 minutes.
In Budapest, you can fly from St. Petersburg. Cheaper by AirBaltic airline: cost from 81 euros. Passengers waiting for one transfer in the capital of Latvia - Riga.
Low Price Calendar for flights to Budapest
St. Stephen's Basilica
Basilica of Saint Stephen It is considered to be the hallmark of Budapest, along with the building of the Parliament of Hungary and the Buda Royal Palace. Nowadays, it is not only a magnificent Catholic church, but also a place for concerts, and also a great viewing platform, which offers stunning views of the Hungarian capital.
Buda Labyrinth (Labyrinth of Buda Castle)
Buda Labyrinth - One of the unique attractions of the capital of Hungary, located directly under the Royal Palace of Budapest. Underground corridors and caves are located at a depth of 16 meters, and their total length is 1.2 km. Part of the ancient dungeon is available to visitors. It is divided into several parts and is a modern art museum with historical exhibits and installations.
What to see
Pages of Hungarian history and mythology are reproduced in the illuminated caves and tunnels of the Buda maze. Here are wax figures in historical costumes and furnishings from different centuries, rock paintings, a stone coffin, heavy shackles, a metal cage and a gravestone with the inscription "Dracula. 1476". Closer to the exit of the labyrinth, stones with the prints of modern objects were installed - mobile phones, Coca-Cola bottles and computers. On small posters are placed interesting facts about the Buda maze and the names of the caves.
In fact, the cave under the Royal Palace is not a classic labyrinth. The entire route is looped over it, so you can’t get lost here. There are several short dead ends in the tunnels, but if visitors got the wrong way, it’s enough just to return to the main route. Journey to the dungeons takes about 30-40 minutes.
The history of the Buda maze
According to scientists, underground cavities under the hill on the right bank of the Danube are of natural origin. Archaeological excavations have allowed to establish that these dungeons were inhabited by people already 500 thousand years ago. In the Middle Ages, they were used as cellars for storing provisions, wine cellars and dungeons.
For many centuries, the Buda maze was equipped and connected with man-made transitions. During World War II, there was a military hospital and a bomb shelter, which could accommodate 20 thousand German soldiers. The last large-scale reconstruction of the dungeon took place in 2011-2013.
For tourists in the Buda maze, year-round spend day (from 9.30 to 19.30) and nightly (from 20.30 to 8.00) programs. At 18.00 the light is turned off underground, so visitors can light their way only with flashlights.
In order not to miss the building, which is the entrance to the Buda maze, you need to pay attention to the signs. Over the door to the right place is placed the inscription "Labirintus". Behind her is a descent to the reception desk, where they sell tickets to the dungeon.
At the entrance you can take a picture of the map of the Buda maze, which is very easy to navigate. The caves are quite high, and it is convenient to go to their full height. In some rooms, quiet music plays, in others the sounds of falling drops, the sound of a metronome or the clang of iron chains. There are places where the lighting is completely absent, and so that visitors can find the right direction, ropes are laid along the walls and arches.
It should be borne in mind that the dungeon is located at a depth of 16 m, so it is much cooler in it than on the surface. All year round, the temperature here is kept at + 16 ... +18 ° С, therefore, when planning a tour under the ground, you should dress warmly.
How to get there
The Buda Labyrinth is located in the historical part of the city, not far from the Royal Palace of Budapest. You can get into it from the basement of house number 9, located on the street Uri. Arriving here by bus number 16, 16A, 116 and 916. You need to get off at the stop "Szentháromság tér" or "Dísz tér".
Mount Gellert (Gellert)
Mount Gellert - a high hill on the right bank of the Danube and one of the attractions of the Hungarian capital, the ancient city of Budapest. The mountain was named in memory of the Catholic saint and enlightener Gerard of Hungary (Gellert), who, according to legend, died at the site in 1046 at the hands of pagans.
What to see
At the foot of the hill is the most famous Hungarian hotel - the hotel Gellert, and near it is equipped with a pier for river transport, which is loved by citizens and tourists alike. On the square in front of the hotel there is a source of healing water revered by locals.
At the top of the Gellert Mountain there is a powerful Habsburg fortress built in the middle of the 19th century. Massive gray walls occupy almost the entire upper part of the hill, and there are cafes and souvenir stalls near them. Behind the citadel is a great place for walking - a picturesque green park with a playground. And if you go down the slope towards the Buda fortress, then you can see the colonnade and the monument to Bishop Gellert.
On Mount Gellert installed the Statue of Liberty, which has become a symbol of the liberation of the country from the Nazis. The monument in the form of a figure of a woman holding a palm branch in raised hands, rises to a height of 14 meters.
Panoramic views of the streets and neighborhoods of the capital of Hungary, the valley of the wide river and the beautiful bridges across the Danube, which connect the two halves of the city, open up from the top of Mount Geellert (235 m).A good observation deck is located on a cliff at the cross. From it you can clearly see the Bridge of Freedom, as well as the colorful roofs of the Central Market.
The story of Gellert Mountain
In the Middle Ages, the hill on the right bank of the Danube bore several names. As was customary in Central Europe, he was given names in several languages at once. Hungarian mountain called Kelen, in German - Bloksberg, and in Slovak - Petsch (or "hill"). Mount Gellert received its modern name in the 15th century, when the legend of Saint Gerard spread among the Hungarians. According to legend, the pagans rebelled against the bishop and the Christian faith, put him in a barrel filled with nails, and lowered it from the hill.
At the foot of Gellert Hill, the Tabán district is located, which has long been considered the center of winemaking, so in the 18th century the hillsides were used as vineyards. According to documents preserved from 1789, vineyards covered 128 hectares and only a small part of the land area of 7.62 hectares was given for grazing. At the top there was a small Catholic chapel - Calvary, to which the believers came. Especially crowded processions were sent to the hill on Easter days. People overcame a steep climb to Mount Gellert to celebrate the resurrection of Christ together.
In the middle of the XIX century, several places in Europe at once covered large uprisings. Hungary was no exception. The revolution in this country took place in 1848-1849, but it was brutally suppressed. Then a military dictatorship reigned in the country. The ruling dynasty of the Habsburgs did not want to repeat the rebellion, so a fortified citadel was built on Mount Gellert. From this place, it was possible to freely fire on both banks of the river, and for this, 60 guns were placed in the fortress. During the Hungarian revolution of 1956, Soviet tanks from the fortress fired at Budapest when the government was stormed.
If you start climbing the hill from the hotel Gellert, then on the slope you can see the cave temple and a monument to the first King of Hungarians, Saint Stephen. On it the ruler is depicted near the horse. His gaze is turned towards the church, and in his hands Istvan is holding a miniature building.
According to legend, in the cave lived a hermit monk Ivan, who treated people with thermal waters and healing mud. Then the Catholic Church canonized a hermit as a saint, and the cave was named after him. In 1926 a temple and a monastery of the Catholic Order of Paulines were opened here, and during the war years a German hospital operated inside. Then the temple was closed, but in 1989 they returned to believers.
To get inside the cave church on Mount Gellert, you need to purchase a ticket. The unusual temple is divided into 4 rooms. As in any Catholic church, there is an altar and a hall where parishioners can sit. The church exhibits beautiful wood carvings and sell souvenirs.
How to get there
There are several ways to climb Mount Gellert. From the metro station Szent Gellért tér to the top climb steep stairs, alternating with good observation platforms. You can also come to the metro station Ferenciek tere and go from here to the Elizabeth Bridge. Then go to the right bank of the river and start climbing the hill.
Another option is to take a bus to the Búsuló Juhász (Citadella) stop and climb the hill on a 0.4 km asphalt path. Along the way there will be no steep stairs and observation platforms. However, panoramic views can be admired from the top.
Many people choose the easiest route that does not require physical expenditures - they get to Gellert Hill by tourist bus or car. There is paid parking here, but you need to consider that during the peak tourist season it can be filled.
Royal Palace in Budapest (Buda Castle)
Royal Palace in Budapest - The old residence of the rulers of Hungary, which is also called the Buda Castle or the Buda Castle. The huge palace is one of the iconic architectural monuments of the Hungarian capital.Together with the adjacent quays and the main Avenue of Andrássy, it is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.
The royal palace towers on a hill on the right bank of the Danube and therefore is visible from afar. The oldest part of the fortress was built in the XIV century, but the main castle was erected from the end of the XIX to the beginning of the XX century. The palace was badly damaged during the war years, but then it was restored.
What to see
Today, the historic building has been turned into a major cultural center of the capital of Hungary. Here are the National Gallery and the museum dedicated to the history of Budapest. In one of the wings of the Royal Palace is the largest library of Hungary, which bears the name of Count Ferenc Széchenyi.
Tourists come to the Buda Castle to admire the old building and see the luxurious interiors. In the museum halls you can get acquainted with the pages of the history of Hungary and its capital. In addition, located on a hill castle is an excellent vantage point. From it you can clearly see the valley of the Danube and the quarters of old Pest, which lie on the left bank of the river. Entrance to the territory of the fortress hill is free.
History of the Royal Palace in Budapest
The first fortress on the site of the modern Royal Palace in Budapest appeared in the 13th century, at a time when King Bela IV ruled here. The Hungarian rulers took care of the castle and constantly expanded it, so in the late Middle Ages the fortress above the Danube was one of the largest in Europe.
In the first half of the XVI century, Hungary was captured by the Ottomans. With them, most of the palace premises were empty, and the rest were used for stables and soldiers' barracks. After a century and a half, when the battle for Buda was going on, a significant part of the fortress was destroyed.
In 1715, the emperor of the Holy Roman Empire, Charles VI, commanded to clear the ruins and built a new royal residence here. Construction work stretched over more than two decades and was completed in 1749.
Difficult trials fell to the Royal Palace in Budapest during the revolutions that swept the country from 1849 to 1856. During the fighting, the palace complex was completely burned, but it was restored. Then the government decided to build a new royal residence. The implementation of the large-scale project took 40 years and was completed in 1912.
After the end of the battles of the First World War, the time of the Habsburg dynasty came to an end, and in the palace they made the residence of Miklos Horthy, who had the official title "Regent of the Hungarian Kingdom." When in 1944 the Soviet Army approached the city, the fascists entrenched in the Buda Castle and fiercely resisted. Heavy fighting, bombing and continuous shelling turned the architectural monument into ruins.
After the war, the Hungarians were engaged in the restoration of the destroyed city and the Royal Palace. The building itself was renovated by 1966, and its interiors had to be restored for another 15 years. Unfortunately, during the restoration works carried out in the palace many original elements of the old fortress were lost forever.
Visit to the Royal Palace
The Széchenyi Library is located in the wing "F" of the Royal Palace in Budapest and is open on any day except Sunday and Monday, from 9.00 to 20.00.
The National Gallery holds about one hundred thousand works of art from the Middle Ages to the last century. Only works by Hungarian artists and paintings painted in the country are displayed here. The gallery occupies three floors of the palace and three wings of the building. It is open on any day, except Mondays, from 10.00 to 18.00.
The history museum of the capital of Hungary is located in the southeast wing of the building. In its halls you can see exhibits telling about the history of the city from prehistoric times to the present day. For tourists, the doors of the museum are open any day except Monday. From November to February, he works from 10.00 to 16.00, and from March to October from 10.00 to 18.00.
How to get there
The royal palace in Budapest stands on the right bank of the Danube, in the central part of the city. To the fortress goes funicular Shiklo. In addition, to the Buda Castle can be reached by tram number 17, 19, 41, 56, 56A and TN, as well as by bus number 5, 16, 105, 178, 916, 956 and 990.
Bath Gellert (Gellert Gyogyfurdo)
Gellert Bath - one of the thirteen baths of Budapest, located at the foot of the mountain of the same name, and which is located in the same building as the Danubius Hotel Gellért. Being a world-famous thermal complex and at the same time a historical monument, the Gellert bath captivates visitors with its architectural elegance and great design. Not in vain, of all the spas in the Hungarian capital, it was she who was awarded the honorary title “The Most Beautiful”. And the first thing that catches the eye is the domed building itself in four floors, built in the style of Art Nouveau, whose facade is decorated with magnificent stucco.
Almost a decade ago, the original appearance of the St. Gellert medical pool and swimming pool, opened in 1918 based on a natural source discovered in Gellert Mountain, was recreated. Having been here, you unwittingly catch yourself thinking that you are in a luxurious royal apartment, and this magnificence is created only for you. Marble columns, a magnificent mosaic, stained glass windows on the windows depicting the heroes of an epic poem, sculptural compositions, fountains with mineral water to drink from - all this looks like a fairy tale that has become a miracle reality.
What makes the Gellert Bath so popular not only among tourists, but also among locals? First of all, the opportunity thanks to the services offered here to improve health and prevent the occurrence of many diseases, and to do this, so to speak, surrounded by a frozen history. You must agree that far from every health facility or SPA-salon the benefits of modern civilization are so harmoniously combined with the historical and architectural heritage, when enrolled visitors to the procedures feel like they are on a tour and get acquainted with the sights.
Thermal springs on the site of the current Gellert bath people found a very long time, even in the VIII-IX centuries. One of the first about their healing properties, as stated in local chronicle sources, was the hermit monk Saint Stephen, who settled in a cave church on the slope of Gellert Hill, who found out that they were able to cure "French disease and seven ailments". People came to him, and he did not refuse to help anyone. The place where the monk healed people was given the name "Dirty Bath", because the water itself was muddy and that looked muddy.
From the same chronicles, we learn that in the Gellert bathhouse in the 13th century, King András II, nicknamed “The Recalcitrant,” was recovering his health. He also ordered the first hospital to be built next to the sources. After Buda (one of the historical parts of modern Budapest) was conquered by the Ottomans, they built Turkish baths, hammams, in the place of the hospital.
For a long time, the recovery by thermal waters was available only to representatives of the Upper World. Healing sources were discovered to the general public only at the beginning of the 19th century, and this happened thanks to their then owner, Istvan Segits. At that time, the Gellert Bath was called in the German manner - Blocksbad. On his instructions, a one-story building was erected above it, nicknamed by the locals as the “Mutny Barn” - again, because of the impurities in the water.
However, the main contribution to the creation over the baths of the majestic architectural complex, "equal to the beauty of the royal palaces," made the Austrian Emperor Franz Joseph I, who ruled from the second half of the XIX century. The construction of a hydropathic establishment, and at the same time a hotel complex, was started on its direct instructions. The work was led by Sterk Isidor, Sebastian Arthur and Negedus Armin. The construction was carried out in a total of 6 years.In 1918, the official opening of these luxurious and expensive apartments took place. So in Budapest appeared Gellert bath.
In 1927, a jacuzzi bath and a wave pool were equipped there. What is interesting is that the “production” unit of these waves, installed at that time, is successfully operating today, despite the fact that during the Second World War, the Gellert bathhouse was bombed several times and the building was almost completely destroyed.
Already in peacetime, the hydrotherapy complex was rebuilt, but without architectural and design delights - the difficult economic situation in post-war Hungary affected. The original historical appearance was returned to the Gellert Bath only in 2008, when the full-scale reconstruction of the complex, which continued for several years, was completed.
The range of services provided
Gellert Bath has thirteen pools, of which only three are open, the rest are closed. The largest of them is the most popular, its area is 500 m². It is in it every hour, but only for 10 minutes, that the unique effect of artificial sea waves is created.
Pools here are of several types:
- open sedentary;
- with hydromassage;
- thermal medical;
- with underwater pulling;
- inner sedentary; cooling;
- "adventure pool";
They differ both in terms of area and depth, in each of them a comfortable water temperature is maintained, which makes it possible to usefully spend time here not only for adults but also for children.
The largest number of pools, namely eight - these are the so-called thermal pools, each of which has its own temperature. Water in them comes from 10 hot springs, the temperature "at the exit" varies from +38 to +43 degrees. All pools can be divided into two more conditional groups - already on a gender basis: for men and for women. There are also so-called common and, as mentioned above, children. A joint visit to the pools by both sexes was allowed relatively recently.
According to research, the water in the pools of the Gellert pool helps to cure various ailments: in particular, diseases of the musculoskeletal system, various types of neuralgia, bronchitis and bronchial asthma, cardiovascular pathologies. A visit to the steam rooms and tanning beds helps to achieve the same goals. About couples should be said separately: there are so many of them that you can lose the bill. Finnish saunas, steam rooms with herbal aromas, Turkish baths Hammam, “mud” and “gas” steam rooms ...
For visitors to the Gellert bath, the whole range of spa and spa services is available, ranging from carbon dioxide and pearl baths to salt chambers, mud therapy and electrotherapy. We are not talking about various types of massage - healing, Thai, hot stones, "chocolate", massage "Danube sleep", aromatherapy and just refreshing and relaxing. Especially for lovely ladies equipped with modern beauty salons.
Comfortable here and lovers of sunbathing: for them right on the roof of the building is equipped with a summer terrace, where you can get a beautiful even tan. Another category of visitors that feels very free in the Gellert bathhouse is nudists. They are by no means a closed group: anyone who wants can join their society, and no one will chase him away.
And in the Gellert Bath there are cozy cafes, where you will be offered refreshments and other drinks, and all this in combination with the procedures you receive creates a favorable atmosphere for full-fledged healing and relaxation, which will fill you with life energy at least a year in advance!
Rules for visiting the bath Gellert
There are practically no serious restrictions that would regulate the visit to the Gellert bath. Unless there can be prohibitions, paradoxically, it sounds, for some medical reasons.
If you are among the lucky ones to be here, it is not only possible but necessary, remember a few simple rules. When you visit the pool must have a swimming cap. No own - can be rented. True, many do not like this option (they just don’t want to use this accessory after someone), and they buy a hat for themselves, which is called permanent personal use. "Price issue" only 2-3 euros. By the way, in the Gellert Bath you will also need slippers and a towel. They can bring with them or, again, look suitable suitable for rental. Do not want to use "strangers", buy yours right there on the spot, the cost is 20 euros.
Swimming pools are usually open from 6:00 to 20:00 daily. The exception is the hot summer period, when the time of their visit is extended until midnight. But whatever the schedule, in any case, it is necessary to leave the pool 15 minutes before its closure, and it is strictly prohibited to violate this requirement.
Tourists to note
Those who are visiting for the first time or are just planning to visit the Gellert bath should be aware that it belongs to one of the most expensive spas in Budapest. The cost of an adult admission on weekdays is: with a locker - 17 euros; with a booth - 18 euros.
On weekends, the price of tickets increases slightly. Children under two years old are skipped for free. In order to attract customers and in case of signing a transfer service agreement (airport-hotel), a 20% discount is provided. With the same purpose, sightseeing tours are held in the Gellert Bath.
Renting a separate room for private bathing for two persons will cost 90 euros, for four persons, respectively, 180 euros. This service also includes the provision of a bath with thermal water and the possibility of using the thermo cabin. Advantages: entrance and separate changing room, separate from the common bath. Drinks and fruits can be offered, and the person who has a rest will decide whether to accept or refuse. An important caveat: an order for the use of such services is best done in advance. This also applies to various types of SPA massage (aromatic, thermal and others).
Other extras are available in the Gellert Bath. Among them, such types of massage as wellness, healing and underwater radiation. There are sessions of therapeutic gymnastics.
On weekdays, a polyclinic operates on the territory of the swimming pool, which receives patients from 6:30 to 19:30. In particular, you can visit the doctor’s office and even get a full range of dental services. All services are paid both in cash and with credit cards.
- The waters of the Gellert Bath contain, in particular, trace elements such as sodium (Na), calcium (Ca) and magnesium (Mg), as well as metabolic (HBO).2) and silicon (H2Sio3) acid. This composition and causes their therapeutic effects in a number of diseases.
- Before World War II, the Gellert pool was used not only for its intended purpose. So, they arranged ... luxurious balls for the aristocratic public. To do this, the surface of the pool freed of water was covered with a transparent dance floor.
- Gellert Bath, which is considered one of the main attractions of the capital of Hungary, was used more than once as a nature for filming. Also regularly held photo exhibitions overlooking her building. In addition, there is not prohibited as a private (amateur), and professional photography.
- With the filming in the bathhouse is associated one infamous video installation “Male Bath”, which was represented in Venice by Polish artist Katarzyna Kozyra. To do this, she had to make up for a man. To maximize the similarity, Kozyra put artificial bristles on her face, and attached a silicone penis below her waist. That turned out to be "art".
- You can see how the famous bathhouse looked in the 30s of the last century, in the gallery Magyar Fotográfusok Háza, where in the photo project "Miniszterek gatyában" the corresponding works of Shandor Pustai are displayed.
- The Gellert bath for the entire period of its existence, if measured from the moment of its official discovery, was closed for technical reasons only once. This was due to truly respectful circumstances - the pipe burst.
- In 2013, the Gellert swimming pool won the Grand Prix in the nomination "National Products".
Address how to get
Gellert Bath (Gellert Gyogyfurdo) is located at Budapest, Kelenhegyi út, 40. This is in the very center of Budapest, next to the Freedom Bridge, passing by which you find, by the way, one of the most popular tourist streets - Vaci.
Official website: www.gellertbath.com.
You can get there by bus (routes №№ 7, 7А and 86) and by tram (№№ 18, 19, 41, 47 and 49).
Many prefer to take the subway ("green" line M4), stop "Szent Gellért tér M" or "Szent Gellért tér".
Bath Kiraly (Kiraly Gyogyfurdo)
Bath Kirai - bath complex, built in Budapest in the second half of the XVI century, during the Ottoman rule. The bath and its surroundings have since been considered part of a consolidated Budapest. This is one of the most ancient baths in Hungary. Kirai is reminiscent of a classic Turkish bath, because it has a characteristic dome and an octagonal pool. The bath water is rich in minerals (sodium, calcium, magnesium, etc.).
Sectional Bath - one of the iconic sights of Budapest. It is a medical and health complex located in the Varosliget city park, including swimming pools, baths and steam rooms - so big that you can’t find another one not only in the Hungarian capital, but throughout Europe! Budapest people affectionately call the Széchenyi swimming pool just “Slip” and are proud of it - after all, it glorified their city to the whole world as a balneological resort, giving people healing in the most serious diseases.
What kind of epithets the locals and tourists honor the Széchenyi swimming pool: the “source of youth”, “the pearl of Pest” and even the “thermal paradise”. Often, the word “neo-renaissance” is added to the “pearl”, emphasizing the architectural advantages of this bath complex, which looks like a magnificent royal residence. Only water dominates in it: boiling and soothing, thermal and cool - so different, but serving the same purpose - to bring joy to people, to restore health and, of course, youth.
The Szécheny baths are also called the “Bathing Palace”, and all thanks to the beautiful neo-baroque and neo-renaissance architectural ensemble, which is unique, in particular, with its interior design solutions. Even a visitor who is not particularly knowledgeable in architecture immediately becomes clear: every detail, even the most seemingly insignificant, is subordinated to the traditions of bathing culture. And this means that in this amazing and inimitable place, having received all the necessary procedures, you will feel as if you were born again. I want to come back to the Széchenyi bath again and again - not only for health, but also to enjoy the beauty and splendor of this creation of human hands.Sectional Bath
The history of the swimming pool
The fact that Budapest is in need of such a health facility as the bathhouse, in the city’s municipal assembly, began to be thought of since 1884. And they immediately got down to business: the development of the project was entrusted to one of the professors of the local Technical University, Gyözø Ziegler. The architect coped with his work in optimal terms, however, the municipality for some reason was in no hurry to approve his plan - this happened only in 1903.Chess in the Széchenyi pool
The professor found out about this literally on the eve of his death, having managed to appoint Prof. Ede Dvorak, with whom they worked together at the same university, as their deputy professor. The authorities have long been unable to determine the choice of the location of the object, repeatedly changing it. This delayed the start of construction of the Széchenyi swimming pool, which, nevertheless, started on May 7, 1909. He was appointed manager of the technical part (in a modern way - a foreman), who became Jeno Schmitterer.And the work began to boil!
The ceremonial opening of the Szecheny therapeutic pool took place on June 16, 1913. The complex, in addition to individual baths, included male and female steam rooms, as well as public baths, also separated by gender. The total area of this recreation facility was 6220 square meters. Construction cost the city treasury of Budapest in a huge amount for those times - 3 million 900 thousand gold crowns. In the first year of its existence, the bath was visited by over 200,000 people. Over time, this figure only grew, reaching in 1919 a simply unthinkable scale: 890,507 people. And this is in spite of the fact that since the beginning of the First World War, the Secheni suffered heavy losses. In addition, there was not yet a planned water treatment facility.
In the mid-20s of the last century, the leadership of Budapest decided to expand the possibilities of the bath and thus end its economic problems. To this end, a competition was announced for the best beach project, in which 35 architects took part. The best project was recognized by Imre Franchek Jr. A year and two months after its approval, on August 19, 1927, the beach received its first visitors. Only here it didn’t affect the economic well-being of the Széchenyi pool at all as expected. First, more money was spent on water heating, and second, another artesian well had to be drilled, which is also money.Snow Covered Sculptures
The work lasted about two years and ended more than effectively: on March 16, 1938, the drillers discovered a hot spring, the temperature of which was 77 degrees Celsius. In a day, the well gave about 6 thousand cubic meters of water, which completely solved the problems with water supply and heating of the Szécheny bath. By the beginning of the Second World War, a so-called drinking pavilion was built near it, and the heating system itself was altered, and it became geothermal.
The war years did not have the best effect on the object, although the number of its visitors did not decrease, but even increased until 1944. 20% of the building was destroyed, but that second well, the thermal well, which bore the name of Saint Stephen, was not damaged. After the war, repair and restoration work began, and already in 1949, the mud compartment, common to men and women, was commissioned. From the beginning of the 50s, gynecological applications began to be practiced in this department. Later, in the Szécheny bath, a salt bath and treatment rooms for electro- and physiotherapy appeared. Since November 1963, this hydropathic clinic became available for visits in winter.
For almost ten years, since the end of the 90s, the next reconstruction of the section has lasted. It was truly ambitious: the old sewage treatment plant and ventilation system were replaced, and the walls and ceilings were decorated with stucco and drawings, beautiful mosaics and sculptures on the "water" theme. Despite the fact that the renovation has been officially completed a long time ago, the Szécheny swimming pool continues to be improved even today, but it is so neat, quiet and almost imperceptible that the work done does not interfere with the rest.
Architectural featuresWing Franchek Baths
The Szécheny bath is built in the style of classicism, while a significant part of the elements is designed in a different architectural style - the neo-renaissance. Motives associated with water, play an important role in both external and internal interiors. Here you can see stylized sea monsters and mermaids, fish and shells. They are placed everywhere - in the scenery outside, on the candelabra in front of the bathhouse, on the capitals, tiles and even decorative utensils.
The building is distinguished by its mirror structure: the same pools are located in both of its wings, which makes it similar to the thermal compartment of another well-known Budapest bathhouse - Gellért. The history of “mirror” originates from the moment when the swimming pool of the Széchenyi was only planned and two identical pools were needed for the “separation” of the sexes.The dome of the Széchenyi swimming pool with the image of the god Helios
Involuntary admiration of visitors causes the hall under the main dome. At the entrance, visitors are "met" by a fountain called the "Centaurus - the Triton Fisherman." It was created by Zhigmond Weide. The four corners of the dome are decorated with a magnificent composition with tritons, sponsored by György Vashtag Jr., Deje Lani, Gyula Bezderi and Istvan Sentjördi. The central part of the "given" to the dolphins and swans of the work of Bela Markup. And the top of the dome is crowned by the sun god Helios himself, who controls the equestrian four.
In the hall there are four semi-circular windows, between which there are pictures depicting bathing scenes in the Greek, Oriental, Roman and Egyptian style. Images of the twelve zodiac constellations frame the central picture. Other pictures allegorically depict the fountain, as well as the thermal, drinking and healing springs. On both sides of the hall, in its semi-circular parts, two more pictures can be seen symbolically conveying Strength and Beauty. Let us name the names of some craftsmen who worked on all this magnificence: Miksha Roth made painted stained glass windows, Geza Maroti made capitals and putto sculptures, and Gyula Jungfer did the plumbing work.
The swimming pool of today
The Ssecheni Baths are 19 pools and baths, differing not only in water temperature, but also in its mineral composition. Outdoor pools - only three, the rest - closed. Most pools are equipped with water circulation and purification systems that fully comply with the standards adopted in the European Union. Circulation systems are absent only in therapeutic pools, since they are absolutely not needed here - they would have a bad effect on the healing properties of water.
The therapeutic and recreational complex of the Szécheny also has saunas and steam rooms. For care and strengthening their health, skin care and massage services are available, here they can also work out with gymnastics exercises. Tourists are somewhat confused by the almost complete absence of explanatory tablets in English. However, from the point of view of service, this flaw is compensated by consulting girls, who are very attentive and responsive - they will readily tell everyone where and how to go. Experienced visitors to the section advise beginners: it is better to make all inquiries at the entrance, otherwise you will have to wander for a very long time looking for the right room - the swimming pool is far from small!Bathtub Section from a height
From the side of the main entrance, passing through the locker rooms with cabins, you will see two thermal pools. One of them has an oblong shape (water temperature is +38 degrees), the other is semicircular (it is somewhat cooler, +34 degrees). From here lies the path to a wet sauna, the temperature in which varies from 40 to 50 degrees Celsius. The shower is right in front of it. By the way, after visiting the semicircular pool, which we mentioned a little higher, you can relax on the same semicircular platform - it is located behind it.
The two pools are located on the central axis of the building. In the pool, located to the left of the central hall, periodically include an artificial current. A little further is the octogonic pool, the healing water of which is heated to 36 degrees. There are also two pools in the right wing of the Szécheni swimming pool: one is oblong (its temperature is 30-32 degrees), the second is small, in which water fitness classes are held every half hour every day, and for free.
The Ssecheny bath is also equipped with basement saunas, to which a staircase from the external pools is laid. In each at a time can be about four dozen people. And only two pools located in the other wing of the building are not accessible to visitors to the bath, as they are administered by an ambulatory type balneological clinic.Saunas inside the bath
As we have already said, only three pools are open in the Szécheny bath.The central place is occupied by a swimming pool with a very comfortable temperature within 26-28 degrees. In it, as in the similar pool Gellert bath, decided to swim in a circle. It is the only one of all pools where the use of a swimming cap is mandatory. On the west side there is the so-called pool with surprises (+ 32-34 degrees), where the services of the guests are tender bubbling water, jet spinal massage and even a shower for the neck. The eastern pool, though without any special surprises, is sure to make everyone want to swim in its healing water heated to 38 degrees.Steam above water
Separately, it should be noted that there is no “old-fashioned” division into the female and male zones in the Szécheni pool. The main thing is to buy a ticket, and then you can be where you like. Visitors are offered a wide range of water-health procedures. Love to steam up? Finnish and Turkish steam rooms are at your service. Skin problems? Then you on the mud poultice. And you can take several types of baths: contrasting, saline, weight, carbonic, and each of them carries its own benefit to your health. Visitors especially like it, warming themselves to the bone in a hot bath, dive into the pool nearby, the temperature of which is no more than +18 degrees. And so several times. It feels as if born again, because such contrasts are only beneficial for the body.
All conditions are really created in the Szécheni bathhouse - not only for recovery, but also for good rest. After a water gymnastics for burning fat, a gym, individual classes and massage treatments, you can soak in the solarium, presenting yourself at some côte d'azur, and then book a table in a local cafeteria for yourself and your loved ones.
Medicinal properties of waterSculpture of a centaur - a newt fisherman in a hall under a dome in the Ziegler wing
The first artesian well in the territory of the modern Szecheny bathing pool was drilled as early as 1868-1878 by mining engineer Vilmos Zhygmondi. From the depth of 970 meters to the surface burst water, the temperature of which is +74.5 degrees. The second well was drilled to a depth of 1240 meters - this happened in 1938, the work was supervised by a geologist Ferenc Pavai Vain. Its water was the hottest not only in Hungary, but throughout the continent - 77 degrees.
The local thermal springs are rich in sodium (Na) and calcium-magnesium-bicarbonate and sulfate compounds (Ca, Mg, H2CO3 and SO3), they also contain a large amount of metaboric acid (H3IN3) and fluorine (F). Healing water is indicated for patients with degenerative diseases of the joints and spinal column and as an adjunct to the treatment of joint inflammation (both semi-acute and chronic), rehabilitation after various injuries, and orthopedic treatment. Bathing here relieves suffering from rheumatic and other joint pains - in particular, arthritis of various etiologies.
The water in the so-called "drinking well" is therapeutic sulphate, chloride (Cl) and calcium-magnesium-bicarbonate. It also contains a lot of fluoride, including the alkaline component. It is recommended to drink it in case of diseases of the gastrointestinal tract (especially those suffering from a stomach ulcer), cholelithiasis, enteritis. It is also shown in case of diseases of the kidneys and the genitourinary system, and in the form of inhalations, in the case of respiratory ailments. Drinking water in the Szécheny pool can be taken from a specially installed pump room. For the best effect, it is better to drink it in the morning on an empty stomach and in small sips.
Visitors to note
- When purchasing an entrance ticket, guests of the Ssecheny swimming pool also receive a special bracelet that allows them to pass through the turnstile and is also the key to the locker or booth. To find out their numbers, you need to scan the bracelet on a special terminal - a scanner is installed on the wall near the turnstile.
- Booths location: first floor, move from the turnstiles right along the corridor.Lockers are located in the basement room, steps leading up to the turnstile lead to it. The main thing is not to confuse and put things in your closet, otherwise the bracelet will not react and you will have to contact the administration, which in such cases immediately calls the police.
- The administration of the bath is not responsible for the safety of personal property that vacationers take with them, so things that you can do without (expensive smartphones, tablets, large amounts of cash, cameras, etc.) should be left at home or in a hotel.
- It should be remembered that the initial division of the bath complex into the female and male zones no longer exists.
- The presence of bath accessories - towels and slippers - is necessary. If for some reason you don’t have them, it doesn’t matter: you can rent it on the spot, making a deposit in the amount of 4000 forints.
- Since the thermal waters of the Szécheni baths are curative, it is not recommended to exceed the time spent in the pools. To help visitors - information signs installed near each.
- You can visit at your discretion not all medical procedures. For mud therapy, underwater jet massage, carbon baths, etc., a doctor’s appointment is necessary. Without it, you simply will not miss.
- Many inexperienced tourists, hungry, can go outside the complex to dine. This can not be done, because for re-entering it will have to once again buy a ticket. It is better to take food with you, it is not prohibited. Remember: there is also a buffet in the Szécheny bath.
- Winter visit to the bath has its own characteristics: the paths between the pools are heated, so the discomfort from the temperature difference to the rest threatens me.
- Summer and winter for the section - it is also the time of holidays. In the warm season, the noisy and fun festival "Cinetrip" takes place here: during the days of its holding, the swimming pool is open at night. In winter, there is also an equally grandiose festival called “Night of the Baths”, where there is always a lot of music and dance and professional DJs participate. It is organized, as a rule, several times a season and it continues until the morning.
Opening hours, tickets to the Szécheny bathLobby baths
The Ssecheny bath takes visitors daily. Pools and baths open at 6:00 and work until 22:00 and 19:00 respectively, drinking well - from 9:00 to 17:00. The stay is not limited - you can be here at least a whole day.
The cost of tickets to the swimming pool of the section depends on several factors: for what time of day and day of the week they are bought and whether the price of additional services is included in them. The cheapest is 3800 forints (approximately 890 rubles) - a ticket will cost you on weekdays after 17:00. On Saturday and Sunday for the same ticket you have to pay 4000 forints. It includes the cost of renting a locker for storage and changing clothes in the common room.
The same ticket, but only during the daytime, on weekdays and weekends will cost, respectively, 4100 and 4300 forints. Many visitors would not like to dress in front of everyone, so they order an individual booth for these purposes, in which, by the way, you can store things. In this case, the ticket price will be different: 4700 and 4900 forints, respectively, on weekdays and weekends. The cost of tickets is adjusted in those cases if it includes the use of an individual cabin for changing clothes and storing things.
Good news for the Budapest Card holders: they can get a 10% discount on any ticket to the Szécheni pool.
How to get there
The Szécheny baths are located at: Budapest, Allatkerti körút 9-11, Magyarország. Official website: www.szechenyispabaths.com. Another web resource where you can learn useful information about this medical and health complex: www.szechenyifurdo.hu, and in six languages - Hungarian, English, German, Russian, French and Spanish.
There are several types of public transport available to the Széchenyi swimming pool - by metro, bus, trolleybus. Regardless of which option you decide to use, you need to get off at the “Széchenyi fürdő” bus stop. The corresponding metro station is on the yellow line M1.Buses numbered 20E, 30, 30A, 105, 230 and 979 go to this stop; trolleybuses: №№ 75 and 79.
Coming out of transport, go on foot through the Varoshliget Park, glancing along the way - if you wish, of course - to the local zoo, and head straight for the yellow building. It can be seen from afar, so you can not go wrong. The central entrance to the Széchenyi bathhouse is located here. By the way, you can get to the swimming pool and on a private or rented car: for parking around the building, no fee is charged.
Museum of Terror (House of Terror)
Museum of Terror has been operating in Budapest since 2002. The building is very easily recognized, thanks to the visor, which in sunny weather casts the inscription "TERROR" on the facade of the building. Until the end of the last century, the building was used for its intended purpose, people worked there, but at the beginning of a new century and millennium, the building was transferred to the Foundation for the Study of History, and this foundation turned the building into a museum.
Andrassy Avenue (Andrássy út)
Andrassy Avenue - the front street in the central part of Budapest, which for the beauty and elegance of buildings is called the "Hungarian Champs Elysées". Here are many sights of the capital of Hungary - several museums, the building of the Music Academy, the University of Fine Arts, two national theaters - the opera and puppet theater, as well as the Drexler Palace decorated with bas-reliefs and mosaics.
The direct avenue is considered one of the most picturesque streets of Europe and is included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites. It bears the name of Count Gyula Andrássy (1823–1890), who served as prime minister of the country. The street stretches from the north-east to the south-west for 2.5 km, connecting the Heroes Square and the spacious City Park with the square bearing the name of the Hungarian political figure Ferenc Deak.
The central highway of Budapest has long been turned into a popular walking area. There are trees planted along it, and benches for rest are located near the footpaths. Cozy cafes and fashionable restaurants are open on Andrassy Avenue. Many tourists come to this part of the city to shop at expensive shops and small boutiques.
On Andrassy Avenue there is a post office museum, the memorial museum of the composer Ferenc Liszt and the house-museum of the composer Zoltan Kodai. There are also two art museums here. One of them is dedicated to East Asian art and was founded by Ferenc Hopp, and the other appeared thanks to collector Lajos Ernst. The building, where the Hungarian State Security Directorate was located for a long time, was reequipped as a museum of terror. His expositions tell about the tragic events of the totalitarian period in the history of Hungary.
The history of the construction of Andrassy Avenue
Renovated buildings in the central part of the Hungarian capital began to be designed in the 1870s. City planners wanted to pave a new street that could connect Pest with the territory of the green City Park and reduce the load on the bustling Royal Street. It was decided to make the street straight and build along it beautiful mansions for the nobility.
In mid-1876, the famous Hungarian architect Miklos Ibl completed the draft of the new prospectus, and major banks in Hungary and neighboring countries took up the issue of financing the construction. According to the project, more than 200 old buildings were demolished at the site of the future street. Instead, new buildings appeared in the pseudo-historic style that was fashionable at the end of the 19th century.
The opening of Andrassy Avenue took place in 1896, when the Hungarians celebrated the 1000th anniversary of their homeland. After the end of World War II, the territory of Eastern Europe fell under the influence of the Soviet Union, and the main thoroughfare of the Hungarian capital was renamed Stalin Avenue. In 1956 she was given the name of Youth, and then called the Avenue of the People's Republic. Since 1989, the street has returned its historic name.
Under the Andrassy Avenue there is a branch of the metro, which is the oldest "underground railway" in the continental part of Europe. Metro in Budapest began to design simultaneously with the central buildings of the city. It took two years to build it, and the metro was opened in 1896.
The Budapest metro was powered by electrical power. For the end of the XIX century this was a very big achievement. Nowadays, the metro of the Hungarian capital has 4 lines, and most of its stations are on the side of Pest.
How to get there
Andrassy Avenue is located in the city center, on the side of Pest. This street has exits from the Budapest metro stations "Bajcsy-Zsilinszky", "Opera", "Oktogon", "Kodály körönd", "Bajza street" and "Heroes' Square". In addition, city buses number 105 and 979 run along the avenue.
Fisherman's Bastion (Fisherman's Bastion)
Fisherman's Bastion is one of the most famous architectural structures of Budapest and is among the most popular attractions of the capital of Hungary. Along with the Vajdahunyad castle, the M1 metro and some other buildings, it is included in the list of objects whose construction was timed to the 1000th anniversary of the Hungarians' gaining their historic homeland, celebrated at the end of the XIX century. Thus, the Fishermen's Bastion is also one of the youngest sights of the city on the Danube.
HighlightsTower Hiradash Rybatsky bastion
This amazing place immediately falls in love with tourists, literally at first sight. Towers and balustrades, terraces and passages - everything seems so unusual, fabulous, and you feel as if surrounded by scenery on the set of a historical film about the glorious past of the Hungarian people. Separately, it should be said about the location of the Fisherman's Bastion - it is unique in its own way. From here, from the height of the Castle Hill in Buda, offers a stunning panorama of the surroundings. Particularly fascinating views of the Danube River and the historic district of Pest. The main bridges of Budapest will appear before you as in the palm of your hand, and behind them - the famous Orsagkhaz, the country's parliament building, as well as the towers of the Basilica of St. Stephen and several other attractions of this district of the capital.
But this is all that is called, on the surface. As for the uncharted pages of the history of a unique object, many of them are safely hidden under the Buda Hill, within which, as researchers assume, a multi-kilometer network of passages and tunnels is laid. The opportunity to touch the secrets hidden under the ground appears when visiting the underground chapel of St. Michael, which was accidentally discovered during the construction of the bastion. However, the architectural features of the latter and the sights located on its territory are interesting and unique on their own, without linking with the as yet undisclosed secrets, which determines the constant attention to the Fisherman’s Bastion from the guests of the Hungarian capital.Fisherman's Bastion with equestrian statue of St. Stephen View from the walls of Budapest
The fishing bastion began to be erected in 1889, that is, three years after the solemn celebration of the 1000th anniversary of the occupation by the Hungarians of the land in the Middle Danube basin (the so-called "Finding Homeland"). However, this circumstance did not prevent to devote the construction of the anniversary date, which is really very important in the history of the people. The construction of the Fishermen's Bastion lasted until 1905. Since then, a unique object that is associated with fish and fortifications, never ceases to please the eyes of local residents and visitors.Tourists in Fisherman’s Bastion
The authorship of the project belongs to the famous architect Frieds Shulek, and the bastion itself was conceived as a background structure for the Matthias Church, built in the late Gothic style. The object was called the "bastion", but the defensive function was never imposed on it. Yes, and fish, contrary to the first word in the title, you will not find here either.The sight won universal love, first of all, by the fact that it really offers excellent views of the Danube and one of the historical parts of the capital - Pest. Tourists admit: "Fisherman's Bastion is one of the best viewing platforms!" Therefore, it is not surprising that his visit is a constant component of most excursion programs in the city.
Today it is difficult to imagine that for several centuries before the Fisherman’s Bastion appeared, a square was located in this place, which was surrounded from all sides by a fortress wall. It was commercial: local fishermen put their catch on sale, pledging in return for being allowed to do this, on their own to defend fortifications, if a military threat arose. These two circumstances determined the name of the future object - Rybatsky bastion. Over time, the fortress walls decayed, began to crumble, and the fishermen stopped their trading activities here. The decision to build the bastion was made in conjunction with the reconstruction of the Royal Palace - that is, both projects had to be implemented simultaneously. So it finally happened.
During the Second World War, the architectural complex was seriously affected by the bombing. After 1945, it was decided to reconstruct the object, and it so happened that the architect Janos Schulek, the son of the creator of the Fisherman's Bastion Frydes Šulek, took up this task. In the 80s of the last century, they carried out another reconstruction, as the state of the walls left much to be desired. The reason was the accumulation of a large number of "bad" gases and, in general, air pollution in this place (the walls became gray because of this), as well as the destruction of a number of statues located on its territory. After that, the Fishermen's Bastion literally found a second life, and in 1987 the UNESCO organization entered it, together with the Buda Palace, into the list of world cultural heritage sites.Fisherman's Bastion at night
The Fisherman's Bastion is part of the Buda Castle, which served as the residence of the Hungarian kings, or rather, its fortress wall. It was erected in the neo-romantic style and is recognizable thanks to the many balustrades, arcades, towers, passages and viewing platforms. The object itself (the Hungarian name Halászbástya) and the temple, for which it became an architectural background, are located in the Square of the Holy Trinity (Szentháromság). It is known as the Matthias Church, but officially it is called the Cathedral of the Most Holy Theotokos. By the way, the first religious building on this place appeared in 1015 at the behest of King Stephen. Subsequently, the church was destroyed several times, but then it was restored - simultaneously with the construction of the bastion and the reconstruction of the Buda fortress in the XIX century.Rise to the bastion.
Built of white stone, the Fisherman's Bastion is a gallery 140 meters long and 8 meters wide, which embraces the temple. Hallmark of the "Khalashbashtya" are its tapering towers of conical shape, which allegorically depict the tribes that became the founders of the Hungarian statehood. They are connected by viaducts.
The main tower is called Hiradash and looks majestic. From its summit, the panorama of the Danube and its environs opens so much that it seems as if you are looking at a model of a city with reduced copies of bridges, the parliament building, the basilica of St. Stephen and many other noteworthy objects.Monument to Janos Hunyadi in Rybat Bastion
On the territory of the Fishermen's Bastion there are several monuments - no less unique. Let's name some of them: equestrian statue of the founder and first ruler of the Hungarian kingdom Istvan I, sculpture of St. George slaying a dragon (although this is only a copy - the original is in Prague) and the monument of Liberty made in the shape of a female figure (palm statue in the hands of the statue) . The statue of St. Stephen, who brought Christianity to Hungary, is located in the very center of the square on a magnificent white stone pedestal.In his hands - the apostolic cross, symbolizing faith.
Another interesting feature: down to the foot of the monument to Janos Hunyadi, the ruler of Transylvania and the father of King Matthias Corvinus, goes down the majestic staircase that leads to the Vizivarosh district (translated as "water city"), stretching along the Danube under the Buda fortress. The original design of the architect, however, was different: the stairs had to go down directly to the river. Thought though not fulfilled, but it did not affect the fate of the sights: there are always many tourists here.
It’s probably impossible to evaluate all the advantages of the Fisherman’s Bastion in one tour, so many travelers, especially if they have time, visit this place several times. It is especially wonderful here in the evening, when, thanks to the bright lights of the city, this object, which is unique from an architectural and historical point of view, appears in a completely different light.
Tourists to note
In the underground chapel of St. Michael - who would have thought! - there is a modern 3D cinema in which visitors are shown a documentary film about the history of Hungary. The tape lasts only 15 minutes, but in terms of the richness of the plot, perhaps, it has no equal - because it covers a 1000-year period of the chronicles of the people and the state. Before the start of the session you will be given 3D glasses and headphones. Do not forget to set the audio track in Russian in the settings, otherwise nothing will be clear.View of the building of the Hungarian parliament from the Rybat bastion
The filmmakers did not forget about the events of 1956, when the Soviet Union brought tanks to Budapest to suppress a popular uprising. It is clear that the former "united and mighty" and his army are represented in the picture in a not very nice form. In general, judging by the reviews of the people who watched it, the film was made interestingly, at a high professional level, using computer graphics and in some places even captures - like a real bestseller.
The history of Hungary, in addition to the mentioned film, is also devoted to a small exhibition, which is open here, at the chapel. Of particular interest to it are true connoisseurs of history — not only those who are keen on this entertaining science, but also the professions involved in it. Maybe they will once be able to figure out whether there are underground tunnels and passages in the Fisherman’s Bastion (they say that they are laid in different parts of the city), or is it still a beautiful legend?Fisherman's Bastion
The Fishermen's Bastion is located at: Szentháromság tér, Budapest, Magyarország.
Official site: fishermansbastion.com (English).
The attraction is open for visitors around the clock. An excursion here is always a pleasant experience and acquaintance with unique architectural monuments, the condition of which is constantly monitored by the Budapest municipality. On the territory of the Fishermen's Bastion you can take pictures.Tourists on the balcony
Access to most towers and balconies is free. A ticket is required only if you want to climb to the top. For different ages and social strata has its own cost. So, adults pay 700 Hungarian forints (about 165 rubles), children over 6 years old, students and pensioners - citizens of the European Union member countries - 350 forints (82 rubles). Children under 6 years old are skipped for free.
Holders of the Budapest Card - a discount card designed specifically for tourists and allowing you to save a certain amount of money and time when it is used wisely - are eligible for a 10% discount. By the way, the cardholder can use all types of public transport in Budapest for free and not pay for entry to a number of metropolitan museums.
Note also that the fee for access to the highest point of the Rybatsky bastion is not always charged.You can literally visit all the places of interest without paying a penny during the period from October 15 to March 15, at any time of the day or night, on other days - only in the evening, night and morning from 20:00 to 9:00.
You can buy tickets to visit the Fisherman’s Bastion from March 16 to April 30 (from 9:00 to 19:00) and from May 1 to October 15 (from 9:00 to 20:00). Please note: the sale of tickets via the Internet is not carried out.
How to get there
In Budapest, an extensive network of public transport, but to get to the Fishermen's Bastion, it is better to use the bus. The sights No. 16, 16-A and 116 lead to the sights. At night it will be possible to take bus number 916. Regardless of the time of day, get off at the "Szentharomsag ter" bus stop.
Chain Bridge in Budapest (Széchenyi Bridge)
Chain Bridge in Budapest - An old bridge over the Danube, connecting the two historical parts of the city. The bridge is called "chain" because of the massive metal chains supporting the roadway. It was built in 1849 and became the first permanent bridge across the river, connecting Buda and Pest, as well as the only bridge across the Danube throughout Hungary. The chain bridge has a second name - the Széchenyi Bridge - in honor of the Hungarian politician Count István Széchenyi, who invested considerable strength and resources in its construction. Today the Chain Bridge is considered the hallmark of the Hungarian capital and one of the most picturesque bridges in Europe.
The six-span bridge stretches for 375 meters, is 14.8 meters wide and is supported by two river piers 48 meters long. Today it is a popular tourist attraction, which all guests of Budapest are trying to visit. The image of the Széchenyi Bridge can be seen on the pages of guides and souvenirs
Chain Bridge in Budapest looks very impressive in the evening illumination. The tops and bases of the supports illuminate powerful spotlights, and along the chains and along the edge of the sidewalks bright bulbs light up, the light from which emphasizes the expressive shape of the bridge.
Many legends and urban traditions are connected with the old bridge. It is believed that those who swim under it on the ship can make a wish, and it will come true. Residents of the city are very fond of the Danube bridge and often call it the "Old Lady". Annually on November 20th, the birthday of the bridge is celebrated in Budapest. During the summer months on Saturdays and Sundays, the Chain Bridge is closed to the passage and merry fairs and shows are held on it.
Chain Bridge History
The money for the construction of the Chain Bridge was allocated by the well-known patron of the arts and policies, Count Istvan Széchenyi, therefore the construction received his name. The project of the suspension bridge was developed by an engineer from Great Britain, William Turny Clark, based on a smaller suspension bridge across the Thames in the British city of Marlow.
In the middle of the XIX century, Hungarian experts had no experience in building large bridges, and therefore the idea of building was both supported and rejected. Those who doubted believed that the new bridge would not cope with the violent temper of the Danube and would surely collapse. Others feared that large masses of ice would accumulate under the bridge, they would block the river bed, and flooding would occur in the city. However, the Count of Széchenyi resolutely set to work and created a special Society for the construction of a bridge. It resolved any organizational issues that arose, promoted the benefits of using the new bridge, and formed a positive public opinion.
The first piles were driven in 1840. To accomplish a difficult task, 800 workers and their families were discharged from England, who worked on bridge piles for two years. Cast iron jewelry and chains were cast in England. All construction work lasted 10 years and was led by an engineer from Scotland, Adam Clark. Later, the square in Buda, on which the western part of the ancient bridge faces, was named after him.
Total construction costs amounted to a colossal sum for those times - 4.4 million forints. In order to get to the other side of the river, pedestrians paid 1 kraytsar, walking with a cargo - 2 kraytsera, shepherds with animals - 3 kraytsara, charioteers - 5 kraytsarov and transporting a large load - 10 kraytsars. Only a few years later, in Kiev, a larger Nikolaev chain bridge was built across the Dnieper, and the bridge structure in Hungary was no longer regarded as a wonder of the world.
By the end of the 19th century, the load on the roadway had greatly increased, and therefore the structure had to be strengthened. From 1913 to 1915, the Chain Bridge in Budapest was closed for reconstruction, during which the steel part of the bridge was reinforced.
At the end of the Second World War, during the retreat, the Nazis blew up the Budapest Bridge. Sustained only two pillars. In 1947-1949 the old bridge was rebuilt. It is noteworthy that the movement from shore to shore was restored on November 20, a century after the opening of the Széchenyi bridge.
Legends of the lions from the bridge section
In 1852, both entrances to the Széchenyi Bridge were decorated with statues of lions, which were made by the famous sculptor Janos Marshalko. Expressive sculptures resembled bronze lions in Trafalgar Square and quickly became overgrown with urban legends.
According to one of them, when the grand opening ceremony was held, the shoemaker's apprentice drew the attention of the assembled public to the fact that no language was visible at all in the animals' mouths. The embarrassed sculptor endured no insults and rushed into the river from a new bridge.
Of course, there is little truth in this tradition. In fact, Marshalko patiently listened to the claims about the absence of lion tongues and told everyone that lions are not dogs whose languages necessarily fall out in the heat. Animals have languages, but they are not visible from the bottom, because lions are installed on stone blocks that are 3 meters high.
According to another legend, if between the statues on the Chain Bridge in Budapest a man passes who never, even in his thoughts, betrayed his wife, stone lions will ominously snarl.
Attractions near the bridge
On the western side, immediately after the Chain Bridge, a tunnel begins across the Buda Mountain, and its length coincides with the length of the bridge itself. Residents of the city joke that when heavy rain begins, the old bridge can be hidden in an underground tunnel.
Nearby, on the square bearing the name of Adam Clark, there is a memorial sign in the form of a stone zero 3 m high. From this place there is a counting of distances throughout the territory of Hungary and on the roads of this country. Here is also the funicular station of the Buda Castle.
On the opposite side of the bridge, on the square, there is a monument to Count Istvan Szécheny. Behind it you can see an elegant building built at the beginning of the last century in the Art Nouveau style. Once it housed an insurance company, and today is a luxury hotel.
How to get there
The chain bridge in Budapest is located in the historical part of the city, opposite the hill on which the Royal Palace stands. It connects Adam Clarke Square in Buda with Roosevelt Square in Pest. The bridge is easily accessible on foot from the metro stations "Kossuth Lajos Tér" and "Batthyány tér". Tram number 2, 19, 41, TH and DH, as well as buses number 16, 105, 216, 916 and 990 fit straight to the Széchenyi bridge.
Váci street (Váci utca) is one of the most famous landmarks of the Hungarian capital. Starting at the Vörösmarty Square in the center of Budapest, it ends at another square, Feuham, located at the famous central covered market, built back in 1897. The length of Vaci Street, the main one in the historic district of Belvaros, is 1.2 km - just like the Moscow Arbat. But the similarity is not limited only to this: the “Hungarian Arbat” - and they call it that way - is just as popular with tourists and is also the main pedestrian street of Budapest.
Life on Vaci literally boils: there are always a lot of people and, accordingly, very lively - someone walks slowly, admiring the beautiful views of buildings, someone, on the contrary, rushes to go around all the shops and boutiques, which are concentrated here a lot. And here it is felt, especially on cool evenings, the refreshing breath of the Danube, which flows very close, about 200 meters. Parallel, Vaci street and the great European river seem to be competing with each other, who is "faster". And the “Hungarian Arbat” always wins in this race, because if the run of a river can slow down at times, then the flow of people here is never!
The history of the appearance of the street Vaci
The past of Vaci has its roots in the distant Middle Ages. Its predecessor was a street, later named after Ferenc Deak, a prominent politician, father of the Austro-Hungarian agreement of 1867 on the formation of a dualistic monarchy. She ran along the city wall and passed through the Vatsi fortress gate leading to the Vörösmarty square.
At that time, the length of the street was 1300 meters, which was equal to the length of the city. But its further prosperity and development was prevented by the Turkish occupation, which caused great damage to the whole country. This time went down in history as the period of the Ottoman Hungary. Finally, Vaci Street was restored by the end of the 17th century. The houses here were sold very cheap, actually for nothing. But on the condition that the first settlers, who were not only Hungarians, but also Germans and Greeks, would complete repairs in dilapidated buildings on their own and at their own expense.
The best place for walking and shopping
Vatsi Street became the main thoroughfare of Pest at the beginning of the 18th century, when it, still a separate city, regained its autonomous status. The future metropolitan "Arbat" gradually expanded and ennobled, becoming by the end of the century not only the busiest, but also the most prestigious shopping street. About that era of formation and today remind ancient mansions, which are under state protection. Among them is a former inn (now house number 9), where Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart gave a concert. The great composer was then only 11 years old.
In the 19th century, local newspapers were more than once written about this street as the best place for walks, during which, as they say, it was possible to show yourself and look at others. Such celebrations almost resembled social events: there was a moment of demonstration of outfits at the meeting of people walking with each other. And both from women and men. In addition, the wardrobe of the local aristocracy was also updated here, since Vaci was already the center of the best stores.
During the Second World War, it was not passed the bombing, but, fortunately, the destruction was not ubiquitous. Restoration proceeded rather slowly, and all work was completed only by 1964. Despite the fact that Vaci street was expanded even after the Turkish invasion, by modern standards it remains quite narrow. For this reason, not only shops, but also places of entertainment are located in two or three floors.
"Hungarian Arbat": today
If you just say that Vaci street is known far beyond the borders of the country, it means to say nothing. It is so popular among tourists that many come back here again and again. Love for this beautiful place with a special atmosphere, where history and modernity intertwined in amazing harmony, is understandable. And it's not only about the availability of various shops: as they say, not a single shopping ... On the "Budapest Arbat" there are many galleries and exhibition centers promoting modern Hungarian art. Among them - the gallery István Csók (Istvan Chock). There are expensive hotels.
True connoisseurs of antiquity will not be left out. Even a simple walk on the paved sidewalks can mentally take you to the far Middle Ages.And if you raise your eyes to the buildings, decorated with mosaics and cast-iron decor, not to mention the fences, sewer manholes and even urns made in elegant old-style, you will involuntarily believe in the existence of a time machine.
A lot of tourists come to Budapest just for shopping. The question of whether to go to a large shopping center or go shopping the main pedestrian highway of the capital is not even worth it: of course, here, on Vaci Street! The variety of its outlets shakes every imagination. Here you can find shops of world trade networks (for example, Benetton, Zara, H & M and others), as well as prestigious sewing workshops - real design studios. In them you can order not only clothes, but also the manufacture of various interior items, since these studios are multi-profile. Never remain without buyers and retail outlets offering antiques, as well as vintage, where you can buy things "antique". As for prices, they are in local stores and supermarkets for any wallet.
Vaci can be divided into two halves, the conditional boundary between which is the Elizabeth Bridge. In the northern part, the first floors of the buildings are occupied by prestigious shops, there are many cafes and restaurants, and therefore there is always a lot of tourists. The most famous metropolitan confectionery - Gerbeaud - is also located in this part of the street. In one of the old houses, which is decorated with a sculptural decoration of ceramics, the Philantia flower shop is located. Arbat in Budapest is also famous for the fact that McDonald's, the first in the Hungarian capital, opened here.
The southern part is more "quiet", the outlets here are not the largest, and the prices are quite affordable. And it is notable for its more pronounced, let's say, historical atmosphere. There are more old buildings and museums. In one of the houses - №43 - the Swedish king Karl XII visited in his time, as evidenced by the bronze tablet on the facade. The underground passage housed the exhibition hall of the Budapest Gallery and an exhibition of old photographs. And at the address Váci utca, 47b there is a small church of St. Michael. It is known not only as a functioning Catholic church, but also as a place where the autumn music festival takes place every year.
Shop opening hours
Shops located on Vaci Street are open from 10:00 to 18:00 on weekdays, and until 13:00 on Saturday. Shops located in shopping centers, take buyers on Monday-Saturday from 10:00 to 21:00, on Sunday - from 10:00 to 18:00. Some large supermarkets operate around the clock.
How to get there
You can get to Vaci street by public transport. Right at its end, tram lines Nos. 2, 47 and 49 make stops. Parallel to it, off the coast of the Danube, runs the route of bus No. 15.
Many prefer the subway. The nearest stations are Vörösmarty tér ("orange" branch M1) and Ferenciek tere ("blue" branch M3).
A few meters from the Váci utca there is parking, so you can get here by car (own or rented).
Another option to get here is by ferry on the Danube.
Vajdahunyad Castle located in the heart of Budapest, near the main city square of Heroes. This is one of the most beautiful and romantic buildings of the Hungarian capital, surrounded on all sides by the Varosliget park. It is simply impossible to pass by the Vajdahunyad castle without stopping and admiring it at least from a distance.
The castle harmoniously combines elements of many famous buildings located in Hungary - such was the idea of its creators. All this made the appearance of Vajdahunyad so recognizable that even the most inexperienced tourists would not confuse the unique architectural ensemble with any other.
At first glance, one may get the impression that the age of Vajdahunyad Castle is at least several centuries. However, it will be wrong: in fact, one of the most famous sights of Budapest is a little over 100 years old. But to get rid of this impression is difficult, because in front of him, as before a real old castle, there is even a moat, not to mention the presence of elements inherent in medieval buildings.
A bridge is thrown across the moat, passing through which and passing the gate in the Gothic style, you can pass to the territory.Currently, the Museum of Agriculture is located in Vajdahunyad Castle - one of the most interesting in the country, which is visited with pleasure not only by guests of the city, but also by the Budapest people themselves. Visitors are introduced to the traditions of local winemaking, dating back to the depths of the centuries, and even provide an opportunity to taste samples of famous Hungarian wines.
The appearance of Vajdahunyad Castle is due to an important historical date - the millennium for the Hungarians to acquire their homeland, which occurred in 1896. In preparation for the celebrations in the City Grove - the so-called Varoshliget Park - it was decided to build the so-called “Historical Pavilion”. Ignaz Alpar, one of the most talented architects of that time, worked on its creation.
A few words about the master himself. As a child, he was lazy and disobedient, and no one even thought that such fame would come to him. Everything changed when the boy turned 15 years old. As soon as he graduated from elementary school (only four classes, and then only with difficulty), his father sent him to work at one of the city construction sites, where he worked as an assistant bricklayer. Later, without prodding, Ignatz graduated from the gymnasium and then entered the Academy of Arts in Berlin and received the degree of Doctor of Architecture.
But back to his creation - "Historical Pavilion". It was a kind of town with small models of buildings made of papier-mâché, plywood and wood. And the buildings are not some, but the most famous, among which were the fortress of the town of Shegeshwar, the church in the vicinity of the village Yak on the very border with Austria, the towers of the fortress Catalina in Brasov and a number of other equally famous castles, towers and temples.
But the most noticeable in this series of architectural "celebrities" was a copy of the magnificent residence of the Corvinus dynasty in Romania, or, in other words, Hunyadi castle in the modern Romanian city of Hunedoara, in southern Transylvania. It was built in the 13th century by Janos Hunyadi, a Transylvanian voivode, regent of Hungary, and the father of the great Hungarian king Matthias I (Matthew Corvin). The layout of this particular building impressed the visitors so much that the whole exposition got its name - Vajdahunyad.
After the end of the festivities, the “Historical Pavilion” was dismantled, but the Budapest people could not forget the beauty of this remarkable creation of the architects. In the wake of nostalgic feelings, the authorities of Budapest decided to restore the castle of Vajdahunyad to its former place, but already out of stone - as they say, for centuries! The grand opening of the new architectural complex took place on June 9, 1907 - by Franz-Joseph I himself, the emperor of Austria-Hungary (although some sources claim that the castle was presented a year later).
On the approach to the Vajdahunyad castle, visitors are greeted by a bronze sculpture of its creator Ignaz Alpara, which as if invites to enter. This is not the only statue in the territory of the architectural ensemble, there are several of them. One of the most famous is, in particular, the monument to the monk Anonymus - the first national chronicler, who authored the invaluable historical book "The Acts of the Hungarians", which was released at the beginning of the XII century. There is a belief that if you touch the pen from which his works came out, or rub it, then having made it will be able to reveal new talents in itself and even become a genius. Or, at worst, he will come here again to help the famous monk write down the history of modern Hungary already.
To the left of the Vajdahunyad castle is an exact copy of the monastic cloister built in the Romanesque style, and a small chapel. The entrance to the latter is interesting in itself: the gate for the church, which is located in the west of the country, became a prototype for it. A little further you can see the buildings, made in the Gothic style: they are somewhat reminiscent of the knightly citadel.
Your attention will undoubtedly be attracted by the magnificent loggia located on four consoles and a fragment of the apse of the chapel, also made in the Gothic style. When in 1925 the creator of the castle ensemble Ignaz Alpar celebrated his 70th anniversary, as a token of respect for the eminent master, a medallion with his image was fixed here, which can be seen today.
To the right of the gate stands the tower, facing the facade of the lake. This is a one-in-one replica of the tower of the fortress of the city of Shegeshwar (Sighisoara) in Romanian Transylvania - a historical region that once belonged to the Hungarian kingdom. Opposite there are courtyard buildings in which the elements of Gothic and Renaissance style blend in wonderfully harmoniously.
The walls of Vajdahunyad castle are decorated with bas-reliefs of two august persons - King Matthias I Corvinus himself and Queen Consort Beatrice of Aragon, daughter of Neapolitan monarch Ferdinand I and his wife Isabella, Princess Taranto. Her Majesty, being Italian by birth, laid the foundations of the Renaissance tradition in Hungarian national art.
The most beautiful building in the castle complex is the Yak Chapel. It is usually used during various celebrations, for example, weddings in the traditional Magyar style. If you want to get in touch with the national Hungarian color in all its beauty and richness, be sure to come here just on the days of such festivities. Impressed with the refinement of its forms and located on the territory of the palace, which was built in the Baroque style, characteristic of the architecture of the XVIII century.
The special beauty and uniqueness of the castle Vajdahunyad acquires with the onset of darkness when the colored lights turn on. The whimsical play of light and shadow gives the architectural ensemble a striking resemblance to the scenery for any performance. It is not by chance that his territory often becomes a pavilion for filming, including famous directors from Hollywood. At other times, various festivals and concerts are held here, gathering a huge number of spectators, including tourists.
Museum of Agriculture
The Museum of Agriculture - by the way, the first of its kind in the world - is located in one of the wings of the Vajdahunyad castle. His expositions in a very interesting and visual form show how the agrarian sector developed, starting with ancient times and ending with modernity.
There are a lot of photographic materials on which unusual agricultural crops and rather fanciful breeds of animals are captured. There are many samples of equipment, with the help of which many generations of Hungarians (and not only) cultivated the land.
A very interesting collection is exhibited in one of the halls - all hunting trophies, namely, stuffed animals of various animals and birds. It is so impressive that it is considered one of the largest in the world. It is clear that this hall is bypassed by animal rights activists and simply very impressionable people. It is undesirable to take children here, because for the fragile psyche of the child this will not be the easiest test.
Opening hours and ticket prices
Vajdahunyad Castle is open for visits from Tuesday to Friday from 10 am to 4 pm, on Saturdays and Sundays - until 5:00 pm, and the day off is Monday.
The cost of one adult ticket is 1100 Hungarian forints, or about 255 rubles. For children and the elderly a 50% discount is provided. If you want to take photos or make a video on the territory of Vajdahunyad, you need to pay an additional fee - 5000 HUF.
How to get there
You can get to the famous Budapest castle by metro, bus and car. The oldest metro line not only from Budapest and Hungary, but from the whole of Europe - the orange line MI leads to the Varoshliget park where Vajdahunyad is located. You need to get to the station Széchenyi fürdő, which goes directly to the Heroes Square, which is located just opposite the park.
To the park go bus number 70, 75 and 79.There are many stops around, so getting lost or missing your flight is simply impossible.
Lovers of a little walk often prefer to get to Vajdahunyad castle by road, because the car park nearest to the Varosliget park is located at some distance from it, 25-30 minutes on foot.
Hungarian Parliament Building
Hungarian Parliament Building - a representative residence of the Government of Hungary, located on the left bank of the Danube in the center of Budapest. This is one of the most popular architectural sights of the capital of the country, without a visit which does not do any of the sightseeing tours of the city. In the majestic appearance of the building one can discern the features of the London Palace of Westminster and the luxurious Parisian town hall Hotel de Ville. The image of the Hungarian parliament can be seen on many souvenirs that travelers bring from the capital of Hungary, as well as on the pages of photo albums and books about Budapest.
HighlightsView of the building of the Hungarian Parliament in Budapest
The need to build a new mansion for the country's parliament arose in 1873, when two cities located on different banks of the river decided to unite. Construction stretched for 19 years, and finishing work was completed only in 1904. Although more than a century has passed since the opening of the architectural monument, the building of the Hungarian parliament continues to be the largest in Hungary and the largest government residence in Europe. It stretches for 268 m in length and 123 m in width, and the interior premises have an area of 17 745 m².
The huge structure has a central dome, the spire of which rises 96 meters from the ground. On the sides of it are the wings, where there are rooms for meetings of parliamentarians and conferences. The stately mansion has 29 staircases, 13 entrances, 13 elevators, 27 gates and 10 courtyards.Budapest (Parliament building on the right) Under the dome of the parliament
The architecture of the Hungarian Parliament Building is eclectic. It harmoniously combines Neo-Gothic traditions and Parisian Beaux-Arts, a style that emerged in the middle of the 19th century and continued the traditions of French Baroque and Italian Renaissance. The facade of the architectural structure is decorated with sculptures depicting Hungarian and Transylvanian rulers. When the country was walking along the socialist path, a five-pointed ruby star adorned the spire above the central dome. Especially beautiful mansion looks from the river. In order for the huge building to fit completely into the frame, it must be removed from the opposite side of the Danube.Hungarian Parliament at dusk
Construction of the building of the Hungarian Parliament
The building of the Hungarian parliament was decided to be built when Buda and Pest merged into a single metropolitan area - Budapest. We chose land for construction on the left bank of the Danube below Margit Bridge. The Hungarian authorities held a competition of architectural projects, and the Hungarian Gothic architecture expert Imre Steindl was recognized as the winner. He had great prestige in the city, since according to his project, the New Town Hall was already built for Budapest.Hungarian Parliament in 1905
The construction of the Hungarian parliament began in 1885. Initially, they wanted to open it to the 1000th anniversary of Hungary, that is, in 1896. But the construction turned out to be so large-scale and costly that by the holiday the builders managed to erect only the main domed hall, having a height of 27 m and a diameter of 20 m.
The grand opening took place in 1902, but the architect did not live up to this joyful moment for only five weeks. For about two years, the interior was finished without interior decoration, and finally, in 1904, everything was completed. According to the reporting documents, forty million bricks and forty kilograms of gold were spent for the construction of the building of the Hungarian parliament.
What can be seen insideThe crown of St. Stephen in the great hall of the Hungarian parliament
The entrance to the building of the Hungarian Parliament is from the side of the square named after Lajos Kossuth. Visitors enter through the Lion Gate. Cabinets and halls look no less luxurious than the facades. Like medieval palaces, they are decorated with colored mosaics, stained glass, stucco, carving and gilding. Bright carpets lie on wide staircases, many rich chandeliers and exquisite lanterns and candles are displayed in the rooms, and the walls are decorated with paintings, tapestries and paintings. The building houses a museum that tells about the history of Hungarian parliamentarism.
The largest hall is decorated by sculptors of the Hungarian kings. One of the main symbols of Hungarian statehood, the ancient crown of Saint Stephen, is kept here. She was entrusted to the head of the first king of Hungary in the year 1000 and has since been used in ceremonies to ascend to the throne of all kings who ruled in this country. Near the crown are placed other symbols of royal power - the sword, scepter and orb. And near the royal regalia, you can see the guard of honor disguised in historical form.Chamber of the Hungarian Parliament Main Hall Building Corridors
Tourist informationView of the building of the Hungarian parliament from the Rybat bastion
The Hungarian Parliament Building is open daily to visitors. From April to October, people are allowed here: on weekdays from 8.00 to 18.00 and on weekends from 8.00 to 16.00. From November to March - every day from 8.00 to 18.00. Every day from 9.45 to 16.00 on the building of the Hungarian Parliament are guided tours, which have a duration of 45-50 minutes. For Russian-speaking travelers, they start at 12:30 on Sundays and at 3:15 pm on other days. Children under 6 years old can visit the building for free.
In order not to stand in line for tickets, they can be purchased in advance via the Internet. This is very convenient, as there is always information on the number of tickets left on any given day on the network. When the purchase is paid, it is enough to print a copy of the electronic voucher and then show it at the entrance.
How to get there
The building of the Hungarian Parliament stands in the center of the capital of Hungary, on the square Layos Kosut, 1-3. It is easy to walk to it from the metro station M2 "Kossuth Lajos ter". Trams No. 2 and DH, trolley buses No. 70 and 78 and buses No. 15 and 115 also run here.
Debrecen - a city in northeastern Hungary, located in the northern part of the plain Alfeld. The administrative center of the region (county) Hajdu-Bihar. Debrecen is a large industrial and agricultural center.
Debrecen resulted from the merger of several small villages. According to one theory, the name of the city has Slavic roots and means dobre zliem (good land), on the other - it is of Turkish origin. The first mention of the city dates back to 1235. In 1361, King Layosh I awarded the city the right to independently choose a judge and head of the city, which opened up new opportunities for its development. In the 15-16 centuries. It became an important trading center: cattle trade brought the main income to the city. After the capture of the country by the Turks, the city was at the junction of three parts of Hungary, into which it was divided after defeat at the Battle of Mojac. In the 16th century The city became the center of Protestantism - "Calvinistic Rome." During the anti-Habsburg revolution of 1848-1849. In Debrecen there was a revolutionary government headed by Lajos Kossuth. In 1857, a branch line connected Debrecen with the country's capital, Budapest, and in 1884 the first steam tram in Hungary was launched here. During World War II, the city was occupied by German troops and was badly damaged. At the end of 1944, the Provisional National Government of Hungary began work here, declaring war on Hitler Germany.
Among the attractions of the city is the Calvinist church, built in the classical style in the years 1814-1821.and which is the largest Protestant church in Hungary; Protestant College 1803-1816; the church of St. Anne; City Hall building - one of the most beautiful buildings of the city; Hotel Aran'bika - the oldest hotel in the city (1915), built on the site of an earlier hotel of 1882; the windmill, which is a historical industrial monument and the largest windmill in Central Europe. Among the museums of the city are the Historical and Cultural Museum Déry and the Museum of the Hungarian sculptor Ferenc Medeşa.
Debrecen University is one of the most famous educational institutions in the country. It was founded in 1538, as Calvinist College. In 1912 it was transformed into the Royal University. In 2000, it included the Agricultural University, the Medical University and the L. Kossuth University. The resulting single University of Debrecen includes 11 faculties and 2 colleges. More than 20,000 students study there.
The city is based one of the strongest football teams in the country - Debrecen FK, which won the last three championships in 2005, 2006 and 2007.
Geography and transport
Debrecen is located in the historic Alföld (Middle Danube Plain) region, 220 kilometers east of Budapest, 50 kilometers south of Nyiregyhaza. At 30 kilometers to the east is the Romanian border. Debrecen is connected by several highways to Budapest (the M35 motorway and the E60 highway, via Szolnok), Miskolc, and the Romanian city of Oradea. The E573 highway goes from Debrecen through Nyiregyhazu to the Ukrainian Chop and further to Uzhgorod.
The railway Chop - Debrecen - Szolnok - Budapest passes through the city. The journey time by train from the capital is about 3 hours.
Near Debrecen there is an international airport, the second largest in the country after Budapest. The airport was opened for commercial flights in 2001 on the basis of the reconstructed airfield of the former Soviet military base, a year later international flights began to run from it.
Debrecen city transport is represented by bus and trolleybus networks and the only tram line.
City Gyor (Győr)
Gyor - The most important city in northwestern Hungary, located halfway between Budapest and Vienna. The city stands at the confluence of the river Raba into the Danube. The administrative center is Gyor-Moson-Sopron. The population is 129,372 people. (2015). Gyor is the sixth largest city of Hungary.
Geography and transport
The city is located about 130 kilometers west of Budapest. Through the city pass the railway and automobile highways Budapest - Vienna, besides Gyor is connected by transport routes with Bratislava and the southern regions of Hungary. The journey by train to Budapest is 1.5 - 2 hours.
The settlement on the site of the city existed since ancient times. In the V century BC. er there was a Celtic settlement, in the Roman period it turned into a fortified city, known as Arabonn. The abbreviated version of the name Arabon - Raab or Rab - gave the modern name of the city in German and Slovak languages.
Until about IV century, the Roman fortress successfully repelled the raids of the barbarians, but with the decline of the empire was gradually abandoned. In the 5th century, after a brief period of Slav and Lombard rule, the lands around Raab were conquered by the Avars. After the defeat of the Avars by the forces of Charlemagne at the beginning of the 9th century, Raab was controlled by the Franks and for a short time (880-894) by Great Moravia.
In 900, after the invasion of the Danube by the Hungarians, the Hungarian period of the city’s history began. The Hungarians restored a dilapidated fortress at the mouth of the Slave, soon a significant city grew around it. At the time of St. Stephen, the city became a bishop's residence and began to bear the name of Gyor.
In 1242, Gyor was attacked by the Mongols, and in 1271, by the attack of the Czech army. During the Turkish invasion of Hungary in the 16th century, the city was briefly occupied by the Turks in 1594, but in 1598 it came under the control of the Hungarian and Austrian armies. In 1683 the city re-experienced the Turkish siege, which was lifted after the defeat of the Turks in the Battle of Vienna.
The 18th century was the heyday of Gyёr, many churches and palaces were built in the city, mainly in the Baroque style, in 1743 it received the status of a free royal city.
At the beginning of the XIX century the city became the scene of battles during the Napoleonic wars.On June 14, 1809, the French army under the command of Eugene Beauharnais defeated the Austrian army under the leadership of Archduke John at the walls of Gyёr. The battle went down in history as the battle of Raab. After the battle, the French destroyed the city’s fortifications.
During the Second World War, the historical buildings of Gyor were damaged, which, however, was much less severe than the damage caused by Szekesfefevarvara and many other cities in Hungary. After the war, the historical center of Gyor was completely restored.
Since the XIX century Gyor was one of the largest industrial centers of Hungary. After the Second World War, several more large enterprises were built in the city. The Raba plant founded back in 1896, producing a wide range of engineering products, cars, automotive components, was the locomotive of the city’s economy. In 1995, the Audi car factory was built in Gyor.
Also, the food, construction and chemical industries play an important role in the city's economy.
- The historic center of Gyёr is a well-preserved monument of the city planning of the XVIII century. Many beautiful churches, palaces and buildings exemplify the Austrian baroque. A distinctive feature of Gyor architecture is a large number of closed balconies of the most diverse forms, which is why Gyor is called the "city of balconies".
- Cathedral. Located on the hill Kaptalan, in the most ancient part of Gyor. The first cathedral on this site was built in the XI century in the Romanesque style, but was destroyed by the Turks. The modern baroque building was built at the beginning of the 18th century. On the square to the south of the cathedral is set the figure of the Archangel Michael with a sword.
- Bishop's castle. Located in the center of the former fortress on the hill Kaptalan. Built in 1575, rebuilt in 1783.
- Carmelite Church. It stands on the bank of the Slave south of the fortress hill. Built in 1725, the Loretan chapel with the revered statue of the Virgin Mary was added to the church.
- The ensemble of the Széchenyi Square. The Széchenyi Square is the central square of the Old Town, surrounded by magnificent baroque buildings. The most notable are the Jesuit Church (1641), the Abbot's house (No. 5), Vashtushkosh's house (No. 4), the Old Town Hall building; and a pillar in the center of the square with a statue of the Virgin Mary.
The city is based one of the strongest Hungarian football teams - FC Gyor IT (formerly called Slave IT). The team became the champion of the country three times (for the last time in 1983), in the 2006/2007 season it took the 13th place. Also in the city is very popular handball. Both the men's and women's handball teams “Gyor” occupy leading positions in the country, and have repeatedly participated in European cups.
Esztergom City (Esztergom)
Esztergom - a city of amazing grandeur in miniature. The city is located on the right bank of the Danube in a bend, where the river almost at a right angle turns south, towards Budapest. On the river passed the former border with Slovakia. Esztergom was never a major city, but at one time was the capital of Hungary.
The flowering of the city began in 960, when the ruling princes of the Arpad dynasty in Hungary chose a powerful Moravian fortress for the royal residence. King Stephen I was crowned in 1000 and created the Esztergomsk bishopric, which is still the residence of the Roman Catholic primates of Hungary. The first cathedral was built from 1001 to 1010. For 300 years, Esztergom controlled both the spiritual and social life of the state, helped by the location at the intersection of important trade routes that ran up and down the Danube.
The political power of Esztergom, once a rich and magnificent city, came to naught by the middle of the 13th century. - Tatar-Mongols invaded here, and the story tells about the destruction and subsequent restoration of the settlement.In its appearance, the consequences of the Celtic, Roman, Moravian, Hungarian, Tatar-Mongolian and Turkish occupation are still noticeable. Some fragments of the buildings of those times are part of the surviving buildings. The architecture combines a wide variety of styles: Gothic, Romanesque and Renaissance, Oriental elements and Baroque, Rococo and Hungarian classics. Even in 1944, when the city was practically destroyed after the Nazi retreat, careful restoration helped preserve every historical layer, and archaeologists continue to find ancient monuments. Moreover, many previously exported works of art have now been returned to Esztergom’s museums. Jewelry, dishes, church utensils, fabrics, paintings, tapestries, thousands of other exhibits demonstrate that the skill of artisans and jewelers has led to the emergence of magnificent works of art for representatives of the highest royal, civil and church authorities. Like the Russian Easter egg, Esztergom should be considered gradually, delving into the smallest details. You can take a leisurely stroll and leave - or settle here and spend an incredibly interesting month.
When to come
From June to August at the annual theater festival in Esztergom Castle. In May and September, there are fewer people, and you can admire the beauty of the city without interference.
Do not miss
- The elegant Hungarian classicism of a gigantic cathedral of the 19th century, incorporating elements of the early Baroque (1774), and the more ancient chapel of Bakots 16th century.
- Cathedral sacristy (entrance inside the cathedral), which houses one of the world's best collections of works of church art of the IX-XIX centuries.
- Remains of the Hungarian Royal Palace X, XI and XII centuries. with elements of Renaissance architecture and Turkish style; especially beautiful castle chapel in the Romanesque style.
- The austere beauty of the baroque architecture of residential buildings on Vizivarosh Street dating from 1730, especially around the market in the square.
Kechkemet - a city in the central part of Hungary, in the Southern Alföld region, the administrative center of the Bach-Kiskun region. The eighth largest city in the country, population 111,724 people (2016).
Geography and transport
Kecskemet is located 86 kilometers south-east of Budapest and at the same distance north-west of Szeged. Through the city passes the highway Budapest - Kecskemet - Szeged, other roads go west to the Solt and to the east, in the direction of Kunsentmarton and Bekescsaba. The city has a railway station, the journey time by train from Budapest is 1 h. 20 min.
The name of the city comes from the Hungarian word Veng. kecske, goat and reflects the region's long-standing livestock traditions. A goat is also depicted on the city's coat of arms.
The ancient settlement that existed on the site of Kecskemet was completely destroyed by the invasion of the Mongols in the XIII century. However, due to its favorable geographical location at the crossroads of trade routes, Kecskemet was quickly restored, in 1348 King Louis I the Great granted him the rights of the city.
In the XVI-XVII centuries, the city, like the whole of Central Hungary, fell under the power of the Ottoman Empire, however Kechkemet enjoyed the privilege of paying taxes directly to the Buda pasha, thanks to which he was under his protection and avoided destruction and total looting.
In the 18th century, cattle breeding was intensively developing in the vicinity of the city, in the 19th century it began to crowd out viticulture and gardening. By the end of the 19th century, Kecskemet was transformed into the most important shopping center of the region, the city’s well-being was reflected in its appearance, several luxurious art nouveau palaces, a new town hall, a church and a gymnasium of the Order of PR and other remarkable buildings were built
After the Second World War, several industrial enterprises were built in the city; in 1950, Kecskemet was the capital of the largest by area, Hungarian media Bach-Kiskun.In 1975, the untouched steppe territories near the city were merged into the Kiskunschag National Park.
Miskolc - a city in northeastern Hungary. The administrative center is Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén. Population - 157,177 people (2017), the third largest city in Hungary. Miskolc stands on the river Shayo, at the foot of the mountain range Bükk. Known primarily as an important industrial center.
Geography and transport
The city is located 175 kilometers northeast of Budapest. Miskolc is connected to Budapest by road and railway. Ordinary railway trains cover the distance between cities on average in 2-2.5 hours; express trains in 1 hour and 40 minutes. The railways also lead from the city towards the Slovak Kosice and Nyíregyháza, and the motorways to Košice and Debrecen.
City transport is represented by 45 bus lines and two tram lines.
There is a small airport near the city, but it is not used for transporting passengers.
The settlement on the site of Miskolc has existed since the time of the Paleolithic, excavations have shown that people lived here already 70,000 years ago. Before the Roman conquest, Celtic tribes lived here, after the collapse of the empire, the region shared the fate of the territory of all modern Hungary - it was inhabited by Avars, Slavs, and from the 9th century Hungarians.
In 1364, King Layosh the Great granted Miskolc city status. In his reign was built fortress Dyoshdёr, located near Miskolc, and now located in the city.
In 1544, Miskolc was burnt down by the Turks, the city was completely liberated only at the end of the XVII century. At the beginning of the 18th century, Miskolc became one of the centers of the anti-Hapsburg struggle under the leadership of Ferenc Rakoczy. In 1707, the imperial troops took the city, again burned it to the ground and blew up the walls of the fortress.
In the XVIII-XIX century, the city was gradually restored and developed. During this period, the city also began to industrialize, the first furnaces for smelting iron were built here in the 1770s. By the beginning of the 20th century, the city became one of the most important industrial centers of Hungary and the center of metallurgy and heavy mechanical engineering of the country.
After the collapse of socialism in the 1990s, the industry of the city experienced a severe and protracted crisis, in many respects, still not overcome. The crisis led to an outflow of the able-bodied population from the city and, as a result, to a sharp decline in the population from 211 thousand people in 1985 to 178 thousand in 2004.
In the 1980s, about 2/3 of the city’s population worked in metallurgy and heavy engineering. The economic crisis led to the closure of most of them at the end of the 20th century, which led to mass unemployment. By the middle of the first decade of the XXI century, the crisis was mainly overcome due to the development of small business, as well as the reconstruction of old Soviet enterprises on a modern basis.
In Miskolc is based football club Dyoshdёr (also known as VTK). In 1979 he became the bronze medalist of the national championship, twice, in 1977 and 1980 he won the Cup of the country. Championship 2006/2007 year finished on the 9th place.
Town Hall Square. The center of the old town is a typical example of the Hungarian Old Town with buildings from the 18th and 19th centuries.
Miskolc National Theater. The building was built in the style of classicism in 1856. Every year, the theater hosts a famous opera festival.
Calvinist church. Located at the foot of the hill Avash. Built in Gothic style in 1410, rebuilt in the XVII century. Unique wooden interior.
Greek Orthodox Church. Built by Greek merchants in the late 18th century in the late Baroque style. The main attraction of the church is the famous iconostasis (1783). The height of the iconostasis - 16 meters - makes it the largest in Central Europe.
Parish Catholic Church. The parish Catholic church was built in the Baroque style in the 18th century.Consecrated in honor of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul, however, it is often informally called the Church of Mindszenty, since it is located on the square named after Cardinal Jozsef Mindszenty.
Fortress Dyoshdёr. Built in the XIII century, in the XVI century it was ravaged by the Turks, and in 1706 the imperial troops, who fought with the anti-Habsburg rebels, destroyed the fortress. In the 1950s, the fortress was partially restored.
Lake Balaton (Balaton)
Lake Balatonlocated in the west of Hungary, is the largest in the country and at the same time the largest in Central Europe. The area of this freshwater reservoir is 594 km², which is why it is sometimes called the "Hungarian Sea". If you look at the map, Lake Balaton will resemble a narrow strip that stretches across the terrain from southwest to northeast for 79 kilometers. The width in different places ranges from 1.2 to 12.4 km. The depth of Lake Balaton averages 3.6 meters, which makes it one of the most shallow lakes on the planet. The ships ply on it, industrial fishing is organized here, with which the reservoir is very rich (25 species are found).
One of the main advantages of Lake Balaton is that it is a famous tourist destination, popular not only in the republic itself, but also in other countries, especially neighboring ones. Around the lake there is a resort area, and today it itself is a real center of family recreation. And active recreation: in addition to traditional fishing vacationers are engaged in sailing and surfing, rowing and water skiing. The presence of mineral and thermal springs makes this pearl of Hungary also a health resort, where hundreds and thousands of people improve their health.
Because of its shallow depth, Lake Balaton warms up well in summer, almost to 26 ° C. On average, its temperature during the season is 21-22 degrees. Due to such comfortable indicators, as well as the highest level of service and traditional Hungarian hospitality, Balaton is rated one of the leading places among the most visited resorts of the Old Continent. The continuous strip of sandy beaches of the southern coast and the picturesque landscape of its northern shores, where there are mountains, orchards, vineyards and the ruins of ancient fortresses, not only creates a complete illusion of rest on the sea, but also makes the reservoir and its surroundings among the most unique places in Europe .
History and Legends
The forerunner of Lake Balaton was the Pannonian Sea that existed several million years ago. Due to geological shifts, the seabed has undergone significant changes. It rose, which in turn led to changes in the landscape. At the same time, increased volcanic activity was observed in this area. Its result was the appearance of a large number of mineral and thermal springs. They also predetermined the current "fate" of Balaton as a popular health resort.
The small depth of the "Hungarian Sea" is largely influenced by the fact that people on its shores have begun to settle since time immemorial. These were the tribes of Slavs and Germans, Celts and Thracians. In the 1st century AD, the Romans settled here and founded a whole province - Pannonia. In the 6th century the Avars forced them out. The 500-700s can be called a kind of transitional period to the future statehood. The peoples living here had a mixed Roman-Slavic-Avar origin, but the states as such did not. Somewhat later, in the 9th century, the Slavs formed the Blaten principality here. The capital of this formation was the city with an unusual name - Blatnograd, located not far from the Balaton coast on the river Zala. Now on the site of the former "capital city" is a village with the same name.
Hungarian tribes came here at the beginning of the X century. After the capture of the region, Istvan the Holy built an abbey in Zalavara (1019).Another abbey appeared on the Tihany peninsula in 1055 - with the light hand of King András I. In the 16th century, several defensive fortresses grew along the northern coast of the lake. And only from the XVIII century, Balaton completely moved to a "peaceful" life: tourism began to actively develop. The once small villages have grown remarkably quickly, turning into resort-type towns. Representatives of the Hungarian and Austrian elites liked to be healthy here. Subsequently, people began to come here not only for medical reasons: summer rest on the lake came into vogue as a certain obligatory attribute. If someone from the nobility for various reasons did not get here in the summer, the year was considered "lived in vain."
In 1846 Balaton’s transport possibilities began to be actively exploited: navigation was opened on the lake. With the development of railway transport by the end of the 19th century, economic life began to seethe with a new force, and so it continued until World War II, which had disturbed the usual way. Particularly fierce fighting took place in the vicinity of Balaton in March 1945. The tank and field armies of the Wehrmacht put up fierce resistance to the troops of the Third Ukrainian Front. During the clashes, which went down in history as the Balaton operation, buildings and structures on the coast were seriously damaged. After the war, the new authorities began to gradually restore the lost tourist potential of the region.
Several legends are also connected with this unique reservoir. The ancient people, who had no idea of the complex geological volcanic processes, thought about how so much water could collect in one place. So the myth was born that a hard stone was hindering one hard-working excavator, and he decided to move it away so that nothing would hinder the cultivation of the field. But it turned out quite differently: a source with very clear water broke out from under it, gradually filling the entire valley, and it turned into a whole lake, which the Hungarians themselves call “Balchi”.
Another local legend says that there is a church at the bottom of Lake Balaton, and inside there is a beautiful girl. She cries constantly and inconsolably, and until this stream of tears stops, the water in Balaton will not run dry. If you believe this legend and judge by the current state of the water surface, the poor concubine does not think to stop ...
Features of Balaton
No church, much less a crying girl, was discovered by researchers at the bottom of the Hungarian Sea. But they were greatly impressed by the velvety sand covering it. The water itself does not look so beautiful, because there is a lot of plankton in it. But since this component plays a key role in the ecosystem of Balaton, the rest “forgive” nature for the lack of transparency in the water. But it is very clean, as evidenced by regular inspections of sanitary and epidemiological services and independent experts. Hungarians, proud of their "sea" (the country does not have access to the oceans), claim that you can even drink from it.
The water color of Lake Balaton is similar to a chameleon: mostly light green, but may vary depending on the time of day or weather conditions. The climate is much like the Mediterranean. Cloudy days, if there are, it is very rare. In winter it is also good here, and there is no severe frost and, accordingly, icing. The thickness of the ice cover does not exceed 10–20 cm. Although it has happened (but extremely rarely) that the crust of ice has reached 60–70 centimeters thick. The only trouble is strong winds: they blow both in winter and in summer. They are potentially dangerous for sailing fans (a yacht can tip over) and even small boats.
The depth of the lake, as noted above, is small. However, its level is not the same for the entire coast. On the southern coast, even if you walk 200-300 meters from it, the water will still be knee-deep. No wonder the Hungarians call the Balaton "the largest puddle of Europe" or even "swamp".On the opposite shore, everything is different: the depth with a man's height and even a little more begins after 20-30 meters!
Coast and beaches
Along the perimeter of both coasts of Lake Balaton there are many resort towns. These are Balatonalmadi, Tihany, Balatonfüred, Keszthely (in the north) and Balatonlelle, Siofok, Fyod, Blatonboglar (in the south). They are somewhat similar to one another, but at the same time they differ. One thing unites them: it is pleasant to come here on vacation and gain health and strength for the whole year.
Balaton beaches are also different. On the northern coast the bottom is rocky. The depth does not increase gradually, as in the south, but more steeply. Because of these features, its beaches are more suitable for experienced swimmers. With young children on the north coast prefer not to go. Keszthely and Sigetfürdё are some of the nicest places here. Many excellent beach villages can be found near the villages of Tihany, Zanka and Balatonfüred.
The south side, especially the coastal strip, is a real find for those who are not very good at swimming and having a rest with small children. Children carelessly splash in the water, the depth of which barely reaches 50 cm, and parents can not worry too much for them (although, of course, you need to keep an eye on your children). Here are the villages of Keneshe, Aliga and Akaratya. Their beaches as one "look" to the south, so vacationers can bask under the gentle rays in the morning and almost until sunset.
Speaking of local beaches, it is impossible not to mention their infrastructure. Some have water slides, animation. In others, vacationers are taught the basics of fitness and aquafitness. On the beach of Lido, for example (this is on the north coast), in addition to children's animation, there are tracks for water skis. And rightly, Gyenesdias beach in the south can rightly be called childish: there is a playground where, in season, exciting programs are organized for the youngest ones.
Many resorts, including some individual baths, are not located directly on the shores of Lake Balaton, but this does not make them less popular. One of these resorts, where you can not only relax, but also improve your health, is Heviz. Its main attraction is the lake of the same name, the largest thermal reservoir of Europe.
Not far away is the health resort of Zalakaros, famous for its Granit bath. Well known to vacationers and the bath in the city of Marcali, where every year thousands of people strengthen their health.
Another center of resort life is the already mentioned Siofok, the hallmark of which is the Galerius leisure bath.
In all baths, there are large pools. At the service of guests - water activities, designed for both adults and children.
Recreation and entertainment
The entire south coast, from Balatonberenia to Balatonlelle, is one continuous beach. Siofok is considered to be the center of the region, its summer "capital". Representatives of all ages are waiting for a rich and varied entertainment program. The length of the beach is 17 km, and everywhere you can find opportunities for sports activities, and just outdoor activities. There is music everywhere, discos work, so it is not surprising that Siofok has become a place of "pilgrimage" for young people.
In the city of Balatonfuuzfø - this is already on the north shore of Balaton - there is a grandiose sports center. It has everything that a lover of outdoor activities really "took the soul": a swimming pool, basketball courts, tennis courts, football fields. Fans of practicing shooting spend time in the local shooting range. Bobsled players will enjoy the year-round running track. To this we add the presence of numerous yacht clubs, places for training, riding and a great bike trail, laid between cities and in the vicinity.
In Balatonfüred, one of the largest cities on the northern coast, there is a cardiological sanatorium not only in Hungary, but also far beyond its borders. The resort is known for its complex "Greek Village", where a lot of shops are concentrated (this is where paradise is for shopping fans!), Restaurants and nightclubs. Directly on the coast there are many hotels and guesthouses. There are those in the city. You can move around the resort by electric train.
Lake Balaton also attracts fishing enthusiasts. But fishing is not allowed everywhere, only in places such as Alshours, Balatonfuuzfe, Balatonakli, Tihany and Balatonalmadi. However, the most popular among anglers is the Inner Lake on the Tihany peninsula, the lakes in the villages of Zalameren and Galambok and the Shoshto Lake in the vicinity of Little Balaton, in Balatonsabadi. One of the inhabitants of the local waters, the pike perch, is called the “king” of the Balaton fishes. In local restaurants, dishes from it are a constant component of the menu. Fishing officially begins in late April. Only without a special permission, your fishing will be considered illegal: you can buy a document in every fish store.
Continuing the theme of outdoor activities, it should be noted that there are tennis courts and mini golf courses in every resort town. Riding schools are open in Tihany, Keszthely, Santada, Nagyvavoni and other localities around Balaton. In addition to restaurants and clubs, on the coast of Lake Balaton there are many cozy taverns where guests are served with spicy Hungarian fish soup, dishes from catfish and silver pikeperch, they pour the best local varieties of wine, and where gypsy music sounds.
We will start exploring the sights from the Tihany peninsula - the business card of this unique in all respects body of water. It is the largest on Balaton, the village of the same name is located here. In the center of the peninsula chosen by tourists there are two of its pearls: the Lakes Outer (Kulšø) and Inner (Belsho). Their banks, surrounded by cones of fallen geysers, are covered with reeds and reeds. These lakes are as shallow as the Balaton itself. The depth here is 2-3 meters, not more.
The most famous historical monument of Tihany is the Benedictine Abbey of St.. Anosh It is the oldest monastery on the territory of Hungary, was founded in 1055. The date is set precisely, since the Latin original document has been preserved. The latter is also valuable as the oldest monument of the Hungarian language, since it contains about a hundred Hungarian words. The abbey has preserved ancient carved altars, which are a true work of art.
The territory of Tihany is declared by the government as a conservation area. Well deserved: this land area is distinguished not only by its convenient location and geographical features, but also by the presence of historical monuments and rare representatives of flora and fauna. And is it any wonder that a whole army of tourists rushes here every year - about a million people every year. In addition to its lakes, the Tihany peninsula is famous for lavender fields, spherical hills formed by geysers of springs. In total there are over one hundred such hills, the most beautiful of them, covered with a lichen of golden color, is called the "Golden House".
In the Middle Ages, the center of the Balaton region was Keszthely, which received the status of a "rural city" at the beginning of the 15th century. Three centuries later it was acquired by a rich family of Festetics. They built here a magnificent palace - the third largest in the country. At the same time, it is the most beautiful and aesthetic on the territory of the republic. Count György Festetich opened in Keszthely the first on the continent agricultural institute - Georgikon. A pedestrian street leads from the palace, along which the Marzipan Museum with its own pastry shop, the equally famous Puppet Museum, as well as restaurants and cafes are located. The city regularly hosts festivals and concerts.
Over the mountain of sv.Györgya is hiding a small old town of Tapolca. True, it is not located directly on the shores of Lake Balaton, but tourists love it. It is here that there is a place that is perceived as another world - the Tapolts Lake Cave. It was formed as a result of washing out with hot water in the limestone of whole halls and winding corridors, which were then filled with the purest water from karst springs.
On the northern shore, right on top of the mountain is located the observation deck Kisfaludi. The view of Lake Balaton from here is simply amazing. At least once in a lifetime, but this picture, created by nature itself, is worth seeing. Do not forget, of course, to take a camera.
But on the southern coast is the world famous village of Balatonendred. Here lives an interesting tradition of weaving lace, dating back to the beginning of the last century and adopted in Germany. Tourists, especially women, get acquainted with the history of this craft and, of course, with enthusiasm comprehend the basics of craftsmanship.
In the north of Lake Balaton, near Sigliget, there is a 242-meter fortress mountain. Its summit is crowned with the ruins of an old fortress (hence the name) and village houses covered with reeds. Dwellings are located around the ruins in a semicircle. In this rural settlement, a traditionally village structure has been preserved. The historical part of the village is surrounded by a wall.
The sights of Balaton are not only natural areas, historical monuments, therapeutic baths and fishing places. Since ancient times, wine and gastronomic routes with their unique cellars and restaurants have been preserved. After all, the Hungarian Sea itself and other lakes of this area are rich in fish, there is a lot of game in the forests, and a variety of fruits are grown in the gardens. To use all these gifts, as they say, God himself commanded. From the wine villages can be identified such as Balatonboglar, Sigliget, Badacsony and the same Keszthely. Badachon wines, for example, are legendary. The most famous of them: "Keknelyu" and "Balatoni Syurkebarat."
A few words about group tours and their cost. A trip by boat to the Tihany peninsula will cost about 10 euros (the program of the stay includes a visit to the abbey). A trip to Keszthely with a tour of the Festetics Palace without going inside and an excursion to Badachny with a delicious lunch and tasting of local wines cost the same - about 18 euros. Do you want to ride around Balaton on a yacht? You are welcome. The cost is about 14 euros. Staying in the fortress Sumeg, where you can watch the "knight tournament" and dine in the medieval style to the accompaniment of gypsy music, will cost about 33 euros. Excursion to Tapolca (program includes visits to cave lakes and boating) - 17 euros.
How to get there
You can get to Balaton from Budapest, the capital of Hungary, by a modern 115-kilometer two-lane motorway. In the area of Siofok, it joins the motorway that surrounds the lake. You can drive around the famous "Hungarian Sea" in a day (taking into account stops at the places you like).
A railway connecting the local resorts with Budapest is built along the northern and southern banks. By train, you can get to Siófok in 2 hours, in Balatonfüred in 2.5 hours, in Keszthely in 3 hours.
The international airport Balaton-Shermellek is 11 km from the city of Keszthely. Air Harbor takes flights from many European cities: Berlin, London, Copenhagen, Stuttgart, Zurich. In summer, planes land from Moscow, Frankfurt am Main, Düsseldorf and Hamburg.
Lake Heviz (Lake Hévíz)
Lake Heviz, born and warmed up by a volcano, is a true gift of nature, giving people hope for healing. Located in the west of Hungary, next to the city of the same name, the lake is the only natural swimming pool in the world with biological active waters.
The area of Heviz is about 48,000 m², and its depth is 38 meters.
HighlightsLake Heviz from above
Of the ten underground springs, radon waters containing magnesium, hydrocarbonates, potassium and calcium salts enter the lake. The sources that feed the reservoir are so powerful that the water in Heviz is updated every 3 days.
In summer, the lake is heated to +38 ° C, and in winter it is not colder than +22 ° C, thanks to which water treatments are available all year round.
The healing vapors of the reservoir and the purest air of the protected forest surrounding Heviz create a beneficial climate in the resort.Panorama of Lake Heviz
Heviz is not only a curative reservoir, it is both medicinal drinking water and an inhalation under the open sky. The composition of lake water is considered to be unique in terms of the set of rare elements that have a healing and rejuvenating effect on the human body. Heviz is considered the best European resort in terms of the quality and treatment of the musculoskeletal system and the peripheral nervous system. Water Heviz improves metabolic processes, blood circulation and has a general sedative effect.
There are no analogues in the world of near-lake mud of the lake containing estrogen and iodine. Mud applications contribute to the restoration of hormonal function, anesthetize and activate skin renewal.
Leisure and Attractions
The symbol of Heviz and one of its main attractions is the white and pink lotus growing on the lake and brought from India in 1898. A rare flower is listed in the Red Book, tearing it is strictly prohibited.Holidaymakers White-pink lotus steam over Heviz lake in winter
In addition to treatment, the resort offers entertainment for guests.
In the medieval castle of Sümeghe, those who wish can participate in knightly tournaments with an abundant revelry.
In Heviz, street balls, beer festivals, performances of operetta, popular in Hungary, concerts with the participation of Gypsy ensembles are constantly arranged for city guests.
In the wine cellars of the Wine Hill district you can buy wonderful Hungarian wine and look into the church of the XIII century.
The beautiful Catholic Cathedral of the Holy Spirit and the ruins of an ancient chapel are worth a visit.
3 km from Hévíz, in the village of Alshopahok, there is a farm with horses where you can ride a horse.Catholic Cathedral of the Holy Spirit Feshtichi Castle Sunset on Lake Balaton
If you want to get acquainted with Hungary in more detail, you can order a tour of the nearby colorful towns, as well as in Budapest and Herend, where the famous porcelain factory is located. In Balatonederich tourists will be curious to visit the Museum of Africa. In the town of Sigleget, resort visitors are often pampered with original folklore performances. On the mountain Kovacs in the vicinity of Hévíz there is the famous Park "Human Rights" with a snow-white Buddhist temple.Lake surroundings
In the city of Keszthely, the white-stone castle of Feshtichi, built in baroque style and surrounded by a beautiful park, welcomes tourists. Next to Keszthely is the famous Hungarian lake Balaton.
From Herviz organized trips to Vienna and to Bratislava.
The picturesque landscapes located around Hévíz make it possible to go hiking, cycling and horseback riding.
Heviz is a very popular European resort and prices are high both for hotel services and for treatment. If you want to save on accommodation, you should not plan a trip in the summer, at Christmas and New Year holidays. February is the month of the lowest prices, but this is also the most inhospitable season.
Around the lake there are about 20 hotels of the category from 2 * to 4 *. Five star hotel in the resort one - Lotus Therme Hotel & SPA (from $ 180 per day). Accommodation in a 2 * hotel will cost 35 € per night, in a 3 * hotel you will be asked about 100 €, 4 * apartments cost from 120 to 160 €.Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa Danubius Health Spa Resort Héviz Astoria Panzió
For staying in Heviz a city tourist tax of 1.6 € per day will be charged.
All hotels have their own sanatorium and medical base, highly qualified specialists and resort infrastructure: salt caves, massage rooms, infrared saunas, pools with thermal water.
Some hotels offer a wide range of beauty and spa treatments.
In addition to hotels, you can stay in private pensions, mini-hotels and guest houses.
Three times a week, farmers come to the Heviz market, offering homemade cakes, fresh vegetables and excellent cheese.
For treatment and swimming in the lake there are contraindications, consult with your doctor before visiting Heviz.
Healthy people should not be in the lake for more than an hour. The maximum time of stay in a reservoir for resort visitors with this or that disease is no more than half an hour. To get the best healing effect from swimming, you need to take a vertical position in the water, this will help you a special inflatable circle, which you can buy in the shops on the shore.Sunbeds Central entrance to the lake
Children under 14 years of age have not shown bathing in Heviz to avoid negative effects on the hormonal system. But for younger guests, the resort offers children's pools, game rooms, and attractions.
Entrance to the lake is by ticket. If a visit to the reservoir is not included in the price of your stay at the hotel, then for a three-hour visit to the lake you will give 10 €, for a day stay - 15 €. It is more profitable to purchase a weekly subscription.
Before bathing in Heviz, remove silver jewelry - otherwise they will darken under the influence of lake water.
In addition to the sanatorium-resort card, spa visitors should also have MRI results, recommendations of an orthopedic surgeon and a neurosurgeon, and spinal radiographs.
How to get there
Fly to Budapest, from where it is 190 km to Hévíz. From the airport of Balaton to the resort the distance is much less, - 15 km. Buses run from both airports to the destination. If you travel by train, then you need to get off at Keszthely station, from where you can take public transport to the lake.
Lake Tisa (Lake Tisca)
Lake Tisa - a unique, valuable and interesting ecological complex. It was created in the sixties of the last century, when the Tisza River was blocked in several places. This lake is one of the most famous resorts in Hungary. Being a creation of human hands, Lake Tysa covers an area of 127 square meters.
City of Pécs (Pécs)
Pecs - a quiet university city, almost untouched by the destruction of war, without powerful industry and without faceless buildings of the socialist era. In the old center is nice to walk on foot. The abundance of historical monuments, some over 2000 years old, complements the climate close to the Mediterranean in southern Hungary. Take a look in any direction from any street of the city, and in the distance you will see forested hills and vineyards.
Beauty has always been valued, and thanks to the lucky chance of 1975, one of the archaeological finds made Pecus world famous. There was a fountain in Pec. By 1975, reluctantly concluded that its mechanism was outdated and worn out and it was time to replace it. During construction, a unique necropolis of the early Christian era of the highest artistic and architectural value was discovered. The combination of amazing discoveries made during the excavations of the necropolis, with the Roman, medieval Hungarian, Ottoman and Austrian architectural monuments in the city allowed Peć to receive the title of European Capital of Culture 2010
It is extremely interesting that no one ever tried to destroy Pecs. Even the Turks lovingly restored and decorated the city during the 140-year occupation, turning it into a center of military formations. However, they mercilessly marauded around. In the old, inner city, is the former Gothic Cathedral of St. Bartholomew XI century. With the Turks, one of his towers was turned into a mosque by the decision of Gazi Kassim Pasha.Now it is the parish church of the old city (from 1686). Even today, the original inscriptions in Arabic script are visible behind the crucifixion (the spire of the bell tower disappeared in 1753 - now the mechanical metal construction with bells rises to a height of 15 m whenever you need to call). Perhaps one can hardly find a more perfect example of ecumenism.
From March to September, during the annual theater festival, opening a continuous series of holidays and events.
Do not miss
- Romanesque "lower church". Restored Mosque of Pasha Yakovali Hassan. Zholnai Museum, which stores the famous collection of ceramics, tile and porcelain. The porcelain factory still operates in Pécs.
- Museum Vazareli, one of the founders of the direction of pop art.
Wine, in particular the local variety of champagne, is just great.
Szeged City (Szeged)
Szeged - a city in Hungary, located on both banks of the Tisza river to the south from the place where the Maroš river flows into it, is the administrative center of the Čongrad region.
The modern homogeneous architecture of Szeged retains eclecticism and evidences of Art Nouveau style of the end of the XIX century, and the main thoroughfares cover the city with three wide rings. An organized, modern, growing Szeged flourishes as the cultural and economic center of Southeast Hungary. Now it is a lively university town of rare charm, among the 265 buildings that survived are real gems of each of the eras of the turbulent past.
When you first see the elegant boulevards and avenues of the city, even knowing a long history, you can hardly imagine the capital of the Hun leader Attila in the 5th century. The city is located on the banks of the large river Tisza, just below the confluence of the Maros River. The Early Roman settlement served as an important “bridge” to the province of Dacia, for 700 years the city prospered thanks to the gold and salt trade, which in about 1138 was captured by nomadic Hungarian tribes. The story conveys a typical tale of plundering, complete destruction and restoration of the city, followed by 200 years of Ottoman rule that ended in 1686, when the Habsburg dynasty came to power. After the attempt to gain independence ended in failure in 1849, the city focused its efforts on the development of trade and industry.
The decisive moment in the history of modern Szeged came in the days of the great flood in 1879. At this time, the water broke through the dams, and the whole city, including the majestic castle, was completely washed away. Of the 5,500 buildings, only 265 survived. All of Europe participated in the restoration of the city, here they embodied the idea of Baron Osman, who replanned Paris, and Brussels, Rome, Berlin and London served as models for the design of the city.
Best time to visit
From June to August during the annual open-air art festival, the largest in Hungary, with a varied program of theatrical and musical productions and performances, held in the squares of the city.
Do not miss
- Medieval tower Demeter. Wonderful cathedral in 1910, built in honor of the revival of the city after the flood.
- Turkish baths.
- The bridge of Ferenc, an exact copy of the Venetian "Bridge of Sighs".
- The huge and elegantly finished Great Synagogue, one of the largest in Europe, was completed in 1903.
- Typical southern sound of gypsy music in cafes and on the streets.
Albert Sainte-Gyorde Medical School was named after one of the teachers who was awarded the Nobel Prize for being the first to extract vitamin C — he received it from the local Segheda paprika.
Tokaji wine district (Tokaji wine district)
Tokay - a picturesque place at the foot of the mountains and the most famous wine region of Hungary, whose population is less than 5,000 people. From the north it is protected by the Zemplén hills, from the south - by the Tisza and Bodrog rivers. Hills have a volcanic origin.Autumn is mild here, and thanks to this climate, wonderful grapes ripen here, and the area from the seventeenth century has been famous for its great wine.
Unlike Aegera, the center of the northern part of Hungary, famous for its red wines, such as the famous “Bull's Blood” wine, Tokaj, which lies to the northeast, produces only white wines. The region has become famous throughout the world for sweet dessert wines - Louis XIV said of Tokay that it is “the wine of kings and the king of all wines”.
In fact, several varieties of white wine are produced in Tokay. The driest is harslevelu, furmint, an ordinary dry white wine that can be drunk at any restaurant. "Svamorodni" - dry or sweet wine, this is a more complex bouquet, a bit like sherry. According to legend, in 1630 one of the farmers fled from these places, fearing invaders, and left the grapes unpicked on the vines. Upon his return, he saw that the clusters had dried up, the sugar was concentrated in them, and the wine had a taste of honey. So began to make wine "aszu" with different sugar content and exquisite taste. This wine should be drunk separately, enjoying every drop.
In general, in the Tokaj wine-growing region there are 28 villages and cities located at the southern and eastern foot of the Zemplensky mountain range. Wherever you go, everywhere you will see private cellars and vineyards offering wine tasting.
Brunswick Castle located in the Hungarian town of Martonvashar. The picturesque neo-gothic castle is often called the "Beethoven's nest". The beautiful building is a model of the architecture of the XVIII century, and its owners - the Hungarian aristocrats of Brunswick - left their mark on the history of the country as the founders of the Enlightenment and outstanding statesmen. Ludwig van Beethoven was friends with the Brunswick family and often came to Hungary. It is believed that it was here that he composed the famous "Moonlight Sonata".
Today, the castle of Brunsvik is occupied by the Research Institute of Agriculture, established at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. The building also houses a museum dedicated to Beethoven and a spacious hall where films about the composer are shown. Around the castle of Brunswick spread a huge park of 70 hectares, in which more than 300 species of trees grow. In the summer, live music concerts are held on a small island in the park, during which classical pieces are played.
For tourists, the park area is open every day from 8.00 to 18.00. The museum is open from Tuesday to Sunday from 10.00 to 12.00 and from 14.00 to 16.00. A ticket to the park costs 1,400 forints, and a museum costs 640 forints. At the ticket office where they sell tickets, you can purchase a park card, which is very convenient to navigate and find the right paths.
The history of the castle of Brunswick
Brunswick became the owners of Martonvashar in the XVIII century. At that time, the main manor house was one-story and did not look like a palace. The new owners wanted to expand the building and entrusted the Viennese architect Joseph Taller to do it. Originally, the castle was erected in the Baroque tradition, but at the beginning of the XIX century it was built on another floor and remade in the style of English neo-Gothic. Under Brunswick, a baroque church of St. Anne appeared in the estate, built by the architect of Pest Jozsef Jung, and a magnificent park was laid out.
The next owner of the castle of Brunswick became a wealthy manufacturer Baron Atale Dreher, brewing beer. It is curious that the beer that bears his name is on sale until now, and the Hungarians really like it.
During World War II, a hospital was located in the palace complex. At the same time, the palace and the English park were badly damaged. Until the 1950s, the estate was empty, but then the castle and park were restored, and they were declared a protected area. In 1970 there was created a museum of the composer.
The aim of the museum’s creators at Brunswick Castle was to perpetuate the memory of the composer’s stay on Hungarian soil.It is believed that Beethoven composed the Moon Sonata when he was in love with the cousin of the castle’s owner and his apprentice Juliette Gvichchardi.
The rooms feature ancient pianos, other musical instruments and antique furniture. Here you can see the bust of Beethoven, as well as portraits of the composer and members of the Brunswick family. There are stands on the walls with information about the pedigree of the castle owners and the milestones of Beethoven’s biography. There is no audio guide in the museum, and the descriptions are in English and Hungarian.
How to get there
Brunswick Castle is located 36 km south-west of Budapest, in Martonvásár, Brunszvik Street 2. This place is easily accessible by car and public transport. By car from the capital of Hungary go on the highway M7 in the direction of Lake Balaton. Free parking is available in front of the castle.
Travelers traveling from Budapest’s Déli Pályaudvar station or Kőbánya-Kispest station reach the Martonvásár station. Trains in this direction run at intervals of 20-30 minutes, the road itself takes 25-30 minutes. From the railway station in Martonvashar to the castle of Brunswick about 0.6 km you need to walk. Regular buses from Budapest to Martonvashar depart from the bus station "Nepliget".
Grashshalkovich Castle (Gödelö Castle)
Grashshalkovich Castle - One of the largest baroque palaces in Europe, located in the town of Gödöllё, a half hour drive from the capital of Hungary - Budapest. The picturesque palace complex with an area of 1.7 hectares ranks second in size after the French Versailles. Palace buildings were built in the XVIII century in the Baroque tradition and served as a model for other castles and mansions.
Nowadays, the restoration in Grashshalkovich Castle is not completed, so not all rooms are accessible to visitors. Tourists can explore the reception area, the grand staircase, the main hall, the chapel and the museum. The atmosphere of the imperial chambers is fully reproduced in the restored premises. Exquisite furniture of the XVIII-XIX centuries, ancient paintings and sculptures are exhibited here.
Especially popular is the luxurious Parade Hall, which is richly decorated with stucco with a thin layer of gilding. It contains elegant crystal chandeliers and a beautiful china set. Today, weddings are held in luxurious interiors, however, they are expensive. During the tour of the palace, tourists can visit the chapel of St. Nepomuk.
A huge Elizavetinsky park adjoins the Grashshalkovich castle, which has an area of 29 hectares. In addition to the picturesque alleys, flower beds and neat lawns, there is a baroque theater in the park, exhibitions are held. The statue of Empress Sissi is considered the decoration of the landscape park ensemble.
From April to October, the palace’s territory can be reached daily from 10.00 to 18.00. From November to March, the Grashshalkovichy castle welcomes guests from Tuesday to Sunday from 10.00 to 17.00. Tickets for adults cost € 8, and for children € 4. In the park you can walk for free. In the palace there is a souvenir shop and a cafe.
The history of the castle Grashshalkovich
The construction of the Grashshalkovich castle began in 1733, thanks to the owner of the city of Gödöllё - Count Antala Grashshalkovich I, head of the Hungarian Chamber of Parliament and adviser to the Empress Maria Theresa. On his behalf, the construction project was prepared by the Salzburg architect Andrash Mayerhoffer. The construction of the main building and its finishing took thirty years. Then the palace was reconstructed several times and expanded until it looked like the letter "U".
In the middle of the 18th century, the castle had its own stables, a representative reception room, a chapel and the private quarters of the count. At the same time began to arrange the palace park. In 1751, Queen Maria Theresa came to the county's possession, and she was extremely pleased with what she saw.
Until the end of the 18th century, the owners of the palace were representatives of the Grashshalkovich family, but then he changed several owners. In 1867, the Hungarian government presented the castle as a wedding gift to the Emperor Franz Joseph.He really liked the emperor and his wife. The castle became known as the Royal Palace and was used as a summer residence. Here lush balls and loud celebrations were organized, therefore the former castle of Grashshalkovich was called the "Hungarian Versailles".
Until 1944, the estate became the residence of the regent of Hungary Miklos Horthy. During the Second World War, the palace was ransacked. From the building carried all the furniture, antiques and paintings. After the war, warehouses for the military were set up in one part of it, and the other was given to a nursing home. The buildings were left without proper care and were destroyed from year to year.
The restoration of the architectural monument began in the 1990s. Today, although the restoration has not yet been fully completed, most of the Grashshalkovich castle is open to tourists.
How to get there
Grashshalkovich Castle is located 30 km from Budapest. It is not difficult to get here by rented car or by public transport. From Budapest, from the railway station "Keleti", go to Gödöllö by train. In addition, this city can be reached by bus.